Help setting up 5.1 speakers - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 77 Old 07-02-2013, 08:21 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ennogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Would anybody like top help a newbie? I have been using a very crap pair of 2.1 speakers. Today I bought a set of 5.1 speakers with subwoofer and an amp. My soundcard is an Asus Xonar D2X (I am using Windows 8). The speakers and subwoofer are Tannoy TFX 5.1. The amp is a Sony STR-DH520


Subwoofer

qeii.jpg


Amp

g2nq.jpg


I am really struggling to set it all up.


Speaker wires

8eaz.jpg



Back of speaker


rtzo.jpg


The speaker wires have a white cable and the other is white cable with a black stripe. I assume the black striped speaker cable connects to the black on the back of the speaker and the white speaker cable connects to the red on the back of the speakers. Am I correct?



The problem I have working out is

1) Where to connect the speaker wires to on the amp

2) Do I connect the subwoofer to the AMP or Asus soundcard? Where on the soundcard or amp do I connect the subwoofer?



I was also told I needed these wires but not sure what they connect to

4n2.jpg

a445.jpg
ennogs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 77 Old 07-02-2013, 08:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Transmaniacon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 2,747
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 284
Well each speaker will correspond to the speaker terminals on the back of the receiver. Since you have 5 speakers, you will be using Front L and R, Center, and Surround L and R.

Place your speakers, and connect them accordingly. If you put the black striped wire in the black terminal, make sure to keep that convention for all your speakers.

The sub woofer will connect to the receiver via the RCA cable, there is a sub output on the back of the receiver that is labeled.

You will connect your sound card to the receiver using the S/PDIF output, with the digital audio coaxial cable. Plug this in to the orange digital audio input on the receiver.

Living Room
Samsung PN60F5300 | Denon DBP-1611 | Roku 3
Denon AVR-1713 | EMP E55Ti | EMP E56Ci | EMP E5Bi | BIC F-12

Computer
Topping TP23 | NHT SuperZero 2.0 | Velodyne DEQ-8R
Transmaniacon is online now  
post #3 of 77 Old 07-02-2013, 08:40 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ennogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks for your reply.

Just to clarify for myself (I did say I was a newbie lol)

Front L and R, center = the 2 front speakers and the center speaker

Surround L and R = the 2 rear speakers.

Am I correct?
ennogs is offline  
post #4 of 77 Old 07-02-2013, 08:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Transmaniacon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 2,747
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 284
Quote:
Originally Posted by ennogs View Post

Thanks for your reply.

Just to clarify for myself (I did say I was a newbie lol)

Front L and R, center = the 2 front speakers and the center speaker

Surround L and R = the 2 rear speakers.

Am I correct?

Yes that is correct.

You can reference this link and use the 5.1 set-up diagram to help with placement.

Living Room
Samsung PN60F5300 | Denon DBP-1611 | Roku 3
Denon AVR-1713 | EMP E55Ti | EMP E56Ci | EMP E5Bi | BIC F-12

Computer
Topping TP23 | NHT SuperZero 2.0 | Velodyne DEQ-8R
Transmaniacon is online now  
post #5 of 77 Old 07-02-2013, 09:01 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ennogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks you so much. Very kind of you.

I have one last question. The wires to the rear speakers are going to be longer than the wires to the front speakers. Does that matter? Should I make all the wires the same length?
ennogs is offline  
post #6 of 77 Old 07-02-2013, 09:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Transmaniacon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 2,747
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 284
Yes that is expected, try to follow the placement of that diagram I linked and then lay your wire accordingly. Unless you have a huge room, you shouldn't have any issues with cable length.

Living Room
Samsung PN60F5300 | Denon DBP-1611 | Roku 3
Denon AVR-1713 | EMP E55Ti | EMP E56Ci | EMP E5Bi | BIC F-12

Computer
Topping TP23 | NHT SuperZero 2.0 | Velodyne DEQ-8R
Transmaniacon is online now  
post #7 of 77 Old 07-02-2013, 09:30 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ennogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
sorry for my newbie confusion. Yes that is expected the wires will be different length or yes it is expected that the wires will be the same length?
ennogs is offline  
post #8 of 77 Old 07-02-2013, 09:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bill Fitzmaurice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 9,299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1200
Quote:
Originally Posted by ennogs View Post

sorry for my newbie confusion. Yes that is expected the wires will be different length or yes it is expected that the wires will be the same length?
It's expected that the wires will each be long enough to reach where they are going, that's all that matters.

Bill Fitzmaurice Loudspeaker Design

The Laws of Physics aren't swayed by opinion.
Bill Fitzmaurice is online now  
post #9 of 77 Old 07-02-2013, 09:47 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ennogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thank you.
ennogs is offline  
post #10 of 77 Old 07-04-2013, 04:20 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ennogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Due to work I have only just managed to finish work on this. I am stuck again.

I have set up the 5 speakers and ran the speaker wires to the receiver.

I am now stuck connecting the last 2 cables.

Do I connect the Phono to Phono cable




To the S/PDIF out on the PC soundcard (Asus Xonar D2X)




and to the orange labeled DB/DVD Coaxial in on the back of the receiver

ennogs is offline  
post #11 of 77 Old 07-04-2013, 04:26 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ennogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
If I have got the phono to phono cable right. How do I connect the subwoofer?

The last cable I have left is a very short digital optical cable




Receiver




Subwoofer

ennogs is offline  
post #12 of 77 Old 07-04-2013, 07:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eljaycanuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 5,109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 475
Quote:
Do I connect the [RCA-to-RCA] cable ... To the S/PDIF out on the PC soundcard ... and to the orange labeled DB/DVD Coaxial in on the back of the receiver
Yes.
Quote:
How do I connect the subwoofer? The last cable I have left is a very short digital optical cable
Run an RCA-to-RCA cable:
- from the SUBWOOFER output on your AVR,
- to the LEFT input on the sub (as indicated on the back of the sub).
eljaycanuck is offline  
post #13 of 77 Old 07-04-2013, 09:46 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ennogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by eljaycanuck View Post

Yes.
Run an RCA-to-RCA cable:
- from the SUBWOOFER output on your AVR,
- to the LEFT input on the sub (as indicated on the back of the sub).

Thanks. I will have to take the digital cable back and get another RCA cable.
ennogs is offline  
post #14 of 77 Old 07-05-2013, 02:16 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
cel4145's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 11,304
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 653
Quote:
Originally Posted by ennogs View Post

Thanks. I will have to take the digital cable back and get another RCA cable.

You don't need to do that. People here often buy digital coaxial cables from Monoprice to connect their subs. It should work fine. Just plug it up and see smile.gif

cel4145 is offline  
post #15 of 77 Old 07-05-2013, 03:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
crn3371's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by cel4145 View Post

You don't need to do that. People here often buy digital coaxial cables from Monoprice to connect their subs. It should work fine. Just plug it up and see smile.gif
I think the OP's cable is an optical cable. No good for sub.
crn3371 is online now  
post #16 of 77 Old 07-05-2013, 03:28 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
cel4145's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 11,304
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 653
Quote:
Originally Posted by crn3371 View Post

I think the OP's cable is an optical cable. No good for sub.

You are right. Never mind. Bad eyesight looking at pics on a phone. redface.gif

cel4145 is offline  
post #17 of 77 Old 07-07-2013, 11:35 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ennogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks for all the help so far. Due to work I have only just got the chance to finish this off.

I have now connected all the wires where they should be in the AVR, Sub and sound card on the PC. I have done the auto calibration test. I could hear all 5 speakers and the sub. I then took the microphone out out of the auto calibration socket.

I am not getting any sound when using the PC? I am on Windows 8. I have tried a you tube video and a video through VLC player. I have checked the volume on the AVR and in windows. I think I have selected the right sound option in Windows. When go into windows sound options I do see the green level for the sound going up and down.





Anybody any idea as to what I am doing wrong?
ennogs is offline  
post #18 of 77 Old 07-07-2013, 11:49 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ennogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
When I do the auto calibration test should I be speaking something in the microphone?
ennogs is offline  
post #19 of 77 Old 07-07-2013, 12:06 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ennogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
When I am doing the speaker set up on the AVR do I choose surround sound?
ennogs is offline  
post #20 of 77 Old 07-07-2013, 12:12 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ennogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Sorry another question. Where should the microphone be positioned when doing the auto calibration test?
ennogs is offline  
post #21 of 77 Old 07-07-2013, 01:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
crn3371's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 43
The mic should be at your main listening position, at ear level. It helps if you have a tripod.
crn3371 is online now  
post #22 of 77 Old 07-07-2013, 04:56 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ennogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by crn3371 View Post

The mic should be at your main listening position, at ear level. It helps if you have a tripod.

Thank you
ennogs is offline  
post #23 of 77 Old 07-07-2013, 04:58 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ennogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Anybody any idea why I am not getting sound when using windows?
ennogs is offline  
post #24 of 77 Old 07-08-2013, 05:19 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ennogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Bump. Still not getting any sound from windows.
ennogs is offline  
post #25 of 77 Old 07-08-2013, 06:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Transmaniacon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 2,747
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 284
You have the right input selected on the AVR right? Look and see what the digital coaxial audio input on the back is labeled as and make sure to select that source on the receiver, probably "Audio 1" or something along those lines.

Other than that it is probably a setting in the properties for your sound card, or if the XONAR has propietary software. I would hunt around and see what you can change.

Living Room
Samsung PN60F5300 | Denon DBP-1611 | Roku 3
Denon AVR-1713 | EMP E55Ti | EMP E56Ci | EMP E5Bi | BIC F-12

Computer
Topping TP23 | NHT SuperZero 2.0 | Velodyne DEQ-8R
Transmaniacon is online now  
post #26 of 77 Old 07-08-2013, 12:03 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ennogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks for you reply.


I think i have the connections right?


pgau.jpg


I did not realise you have to select the audio on the avr I will have a look at how to do that.
ennogs is offline  
post #27 of 77 Old 07-08-2013, 12:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Transmaniacon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 2,747
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 284
Yeah everything looks like it is plugged in correctly, if you didn't select the right source on the AVR then I am 99% sure that is the problem biggrin.gif

Living Room
Samsung PN60F5300 | Denon DBP-1611 | Roku 3
Denon AVR-1713 | EMP E55Ti | EMP E56Ci | EMP E5Bi | BIC F-12

Computer
Topping TP23 | NHT SuperZero 2.0 | Velodyne DEQ-8R
Transmaniacon is online now  
post #28 of 77 Old 07-08-2013, 12:25 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ennogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have gone through every menu option on the AVR and still getting no sound
ennogs is offline  
post #29 of 77 Old 07-08-2013, 12:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Transmaniacon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 2,747
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 284
Just try turning on the radio of the AVR and seeing if you get sound. If we can localize the problem it will be easier to diagnose. If the AVR and speakers all work, then we can narrow it down to the cables/soundcard/computer.

From your picture the XONAR was set as the default device, I would look in the properties and see what everything is set at. If your motherboard has an optical or coaxial output, try that instead. See if you can get sound without the XONAR.

Living Room
Samsung PN60F5300 | Denon DBP-1611 | Roku 3
Denon AVR-1713 | EMP E55Ti | EMP E56Ci | EMP E5Bi | BIC F-12

Computer
Topping TP23 | NHT SuperZero 2.0 | Velodyne DEQ-8R
Transmaniacon is online now  
post #30 of 77 Old 07-08-2013, 01:06 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ennogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
This is what options i have on the AVR



Using the input selector control I have chosen BD/DVD

With the the input mode button I have choice between auto and coax. I have chosen coax.
ennogs is offline  
Reply Speakers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off