Speaker recommendation for HT/Music - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 31 Old 07-11-2013, 06:10 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Everyone - I am really new to this and looking for some help on purchasing speakers for HT and music.

Here is what it currently looks like:
TV Room Size - 15 x 18 with cathedral ceilings
The current bose speakers are installed at 9 ft above ground level and they are Bose Direct/Reflecting® cube speaker arrays. There were left by previous home owner (we just bought the home). I know many do not speak highly of bose but I will eventually replace these down the line. I just need to get something now to build on.
See pics of room attached. I know some will think this room is not ideal and I understand but for now this is what it is. I plan on building a real HT/Game room Man cave down the road in my 3rd floor eventually. So please don't recommend I change rooms now wink.gif. I will consider room treatments if you recommend them.

With that said, this room will always have a TV in it despite my future plan for HT in 3rd floor. So I need help selecting speakers that are not to bulky and out of the way as much as possible without sacrificing too much sound for HT and Music. I know that HT has many different requirements than music playing so I would need an optimal balance for both.

I plan on purchasing the Denon X4000 but do not know where to go with speakers as it seems its an even more saturated market than receivers are and I had a very hard time deciding on the denon. BTW, I am open to changing receivers if it makes sense money wise in order to get better speakers.

My Budget will not be unlimited but I would like to have recommendations on 3 levels if possible. What would you buy if you had:
1. A Tight Budget up to 3000
2. Balanced budget up to 5000
3. High Budget up to 10000