Need help with choosing speakers and proper placement / setup - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 15 Old 07-13-2013, 04:31 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I’m an A/V noob and need some help planning a surround sound system. I tend to over think this stuff, mostly because I will install the speakers in the wall and want to make the right choices the first time.

I already have the receiver which is a 7.2 Yamaha RX-V867.
http://usa.yamaha.com/products/audio-visual/av-receivers-amps/rx/rx-v867/

I would like to know:
1.) Speaker brand & size recommendations (in-wall, in-ceiling)
2.) Best speaker placement for a smaller room (15’x10’)
3.) How to get a good balance between music and movies.
4.) Any input you may have

The 10’ is the distance from the couch to the TV. The couch sits directly against the back wall which puts me about 8-9ft from the TV while sitting on it. Since there is no room behind me (except maybe in the wall), it seems like the rear speakers don’t have an ideal placement. Since it is a smaller room, I don’t want them to be the focal point of the room. Low profile is better. My budget is negotiable, but would like to keep the cost under 2k.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 07-13-2013, 07:57 AM
AVS Special Member

Liked: 20
actually, for a Dolby 5.1 speaker setup, the two surround speakers are located more on the sides and the true rear speakers are only added in a 7.1 setup.
http://www.dolby.com/us/en/consumer/setup/connection-guide/home-theater-speaker-guide/index.html

If you have the ability to do in-wall wiring, then I would recommend in-wall speakers over downfiring in-ceiling speakers. I find the "voice from above" effect too noticeable in a small room.

What is your speaker budget ? In-wall speakers can go from $80 a pair to thousands of dollars each, so we need to narrow the search.

To start with in the good budget speakers....