AVS Forum banner
26K views 248 replies 88 participants last post by  Chevypower 
#1 ·
OK So please don't attack me. I'm in no way an audio noob, just a noob to the forum.

I've been working with music for about 15 years. I've DJed, produced, engineered, mixed CDs, etc. The best speakers I've heard to this date were Yorkville, but Mackies didn't come far behind. I actually never really owned anything Bose besides headphones. My mom had that clock cd radio thing everyone gets.

So now that I'm looking for a home theater the Bose Cinemate GS II or whatever the full name is really attracted my attention. I've heard them in the store before and I love them, and regardless of haters I probably will purchase. They're going for something like $600 now. I get it's not a real subwoofer, more of a module as Bose admits, but between what I want and what my future wife doesn't want (bulkiness all over the room), this seems to fit where I'm at.

I'm just curious how this hatred to Bose started. "No highs, no lows, must be Bose". It seems that people who WANT to be audiophiles are the ones really feeling this quote. Do real audiophiles eventually admit that besides the price tag attached, Bose is actually a decent brand, or is it a hatred till the end?

I understand you can get floor speakers, 7.1, a sick receiver, etc. and will have an absolutely amazing sounding movie-theater like home theater, but for someone looking to get a 2.1 system to keep the wife happy, who hates the look of Soundbars, etc., do audiophiles still attack this?

Just curious to hear opinions.

See less See more
#27 ·
I can vouch for the Energy 5.1 Take Classic. I installed one in my non-audiophile parents basement and I was pleasantly surprised at the sound quality of the system. Very nice for the money and Amazon has it on sale right now for $279.99. That's an amazing price for that system.

#28 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by afrogt  /t/1482067/i-dont-get-the-bose-hatred#post_23537606