I don't get the Bose hatred - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 248 Old 07-17-2013, 11:30 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK So please don't attack me. I'm in no way an audio noob, just a noob to the forum.

I've been working with music for about 15 years. I've DJed, produced, engineered, mixed CDs, etc. The best speakers I've heard to this date were Yorkville, but Mackies didn't come far behind. I actually never really owned anything Bose besides headphones. My mom had that clock cd radio thing everyone gets.

So now that I'm looking for a home theater the Bose Cinemate GS II or whatever the full name is really attracted my attention. I've heard them in the store before and I love them, and regardless of haters I probably will purchase. They're going for something like $600 now. I get it's not a real subwoofer, more of a module as Bose admits, but between what I want and what my future wife doesn't want (bulkiness all over the room), this seems to fit where I'm at.

I'm just curious how this hatred to Bose started. "No highs, no lows, must be Bose". It seems that people who WANT to be audiophiles are the ones really feeling this quote. Do real audiophiles eventually admit that besides the price tag attached, Bose is actually a decent brand, or is it a hatred till the end?

I understand you can get floor speakers, 7.1, a sick receiver, etc. and will have an absolutely amazing sounding movie-theater like home theater, but for someone looking to get a 2.1 system to keep the wife happy, who hates the look of Soundbars, etc., do audiophiles still attack this?

Just curious to hear opinions.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 248 Old 07-17-2013, 11:52 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=06YFFqiAw4c
BornSlippyZ and DSTJersey like this.
post #3 of 248 Old 07-17-2013, 11:52 AM

Liked: 13