Assembling my first audio setup, probably Genelec 8020 + 7050 and need some help - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 36 Old 08-23-2013, 07:44 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, this is my first time writing here, I'm not an audio expert, I play guitar, do some editiing with Logic, I care about having good equipment and can appreciate a good audio source but it's the first time I'm really investing in good monitors, I am on a budget and a little lost.

After some research I came to the conclusion that a pair of Genelec 8020 monitors and a 7050 subwoofer could cover my needs. I plan to use the set for some audio editing and as a home cinema connected to a Denon AVR 2113 AV receiver, on a medium size room in a 2.1 configuration.

Though I'm not sure if they'll work well connected to the receiver or will come short as home cinema for a medium size room. Also I'd like to know how the bass performance would be having only the monitors in case I decide to wait a little to adquiere the subwoofer. I'm looking for these after the overall great feedback from user I've seen, I know they're more oriented for studio recording but many people use them as home cinema, since I'll be making both I think they can be good.

What do you think? Of course I'm open to alternatives and suggestions. Thanks in advance!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 36 Old 08-23-2013, 09:32 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Won't work with that receiver. You need pre-outs to connect to your speakers.
You need to go to the AVR-3313 for pre-outs.
post #3 of 36 Old 08-23-2013, 12:27 PM
AVS Addicted Member

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 658