Two questions, one post - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 7 Old 08-25-2013, 07:02 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, all. New guy here. And that's new in more ways than one; I'm just starting to learn about all this AV stuff as I've just recently become an adult with a job and disposable income. Or, at least, that's how it seems.

So I've just bought myself a Denon X4000, which was an upgrade from my Onkyo TX-nr515. I'm still running the same Klipsh bookshelf speakers, but I'm scoping upgrades.

Now for my first question: generally speaking, as one moves up the scale of a family of speakers, what's the overall difference? For example, if I'm looking at Klipsh ikon speakers and compare the $700'ish pair to the $900'ish pair, should I expect them to sound better at the same volume, or am I really just getting more power/volume, which I may not need? And, of course, I don't just mean Klipsch. The same question applies to, say, MartinLogan electrostatic speakers, which come in various prices.

Which segues me to my next question: should I consider the Klipsch Ikons from BB? I know many will say no, but the BB guy told me if I bought the $900 pair, they'd throw in the surrounds ($280 each) for free, and I'd get 10% off the 10" subwoofer. Throw in the center and you're looking at around $1700.

Now, when folks start throwing in stuff for free, I figure the reality is it's all over priced. Could I do considerably better for around the same price?

Also, my primary use will be movies/video games. And the whole set will be a place holder until I can save up enough/justify the 10 grand for the MartinLogan set I want, which will be a few years probably.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 08-25-2013, 08:45 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 290