Home theater novice has 7.1 question - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 4 Old 11-11-2013, 03:32 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11

I'm enjoying my newly finished 7.1 setup and am in the process of choosing a new subwoofer, however I also need to get a new center channel. As you can see in my info I have an Infinity Reference based setup, the correct center channel is a CC3 but the only one on e-Bay will be $165 with shipping, my question is this, if I was to take a Dayton Audio BS36 sound bar, wire it to my Denon AVR2805 using the B front speaker outputs and the center channel and than run that and the A Infinity Reference 2000.6 towers I have for mains at the same time would it sound terrible? Or give me a bit more sound? I'm VERY new at this whole home theater thing so I don't have the knowledge to answer this myself. On paper it sounds cool, but I'm sure some of you more seasoned guys can give me some input as far as if it's a terrible idea. Thanks!

Pioneer SC1522K|Mirage Omni 60 Center | Mirage Omni 260 Mains | Mirage Omni FX front heights|
Mirage Omni 60 Side Surrounds| Mirage Omni 60 Rear Surrounds| SVS SB1000
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 11-11-2013, 01:01 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 503

Interesting question. I'm not going to pretend to say I know the definitive answer to it but it seems to me this won't work. Reading the material on this AVR it says: 

Dual-room/dual-source output lets you enjoy 7.1 home theater surround in your main room while housemates enjoy another music or video source (in stereo) in a second room. You'll need a separate amplifier for your second listening room — or, if you step to 5.1 audio in your main room, the AVR-2805 can also power a pair of second-room speakers!

It seems to say if you are going to listen to 7.1 then your second set of speakers will be stereo and will require a separate amp for power.