Audiophile newbie, pregnant wife --> Need new set up recommendations! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 17 Old 11-20-2013, 05:45 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22

Hi all, 

I'm new to the audiophile world. I've always been in love with sound. I am an amateur pianist (been playing for 20 years now). The first thing I bought when I had the money was an acoustic piano because I couldn't stand the sound from my older digital piano (a fairly high end one). So I think I have it in me to be an audiophile. ;) 

Like the title says, my wife just got a positive pregnancy test. This has spurred me to look for new speakers because among other things like my wife's nutrition, a primary responsibility that I have is to provide the developing baby a great sonic atmosphere. So I'm looking to buy a good set up mainly to play classical music and jazz. I will probably stick to a two channel stereo set up to get more bang for the buck. Being a student, I have a limited  budget of $1000 for everything included (speakers, amp/receiver, cd player, and misc stuff like speaker wires). I'll also need to get cd's since I currently have my music collection in mp3 format on my computer.

Please make suggestions for complete systems because I know that there are certain speakers that work better with one kind of receiver than another. 

Here are is a shortlist that I've come up with for speakers (but I have very little idea what to pair them with in terms of amp/receiver). Some of these may be on the higher end leaving me little money for the other stuff that I will need but if it is really worth the money, I can come up with an extra couple of hundred bucks:

1.  Paradigm monitor 9 (10 years old,on Craigslist, I can get a pair for $250)

2. Infinity primus p363

3.  polk monitor 70 (newegg deal on dealsnews = $143/ea. Don't know if this deal has expired)

4.  pioneer spfs52 $129 ea on amazon

5. Boston Acoustics A 360