Polk RTIA vs. EMP Tek - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 66 Old 11-21-2013, 09:24 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19

I am a newbie and I recently purchased my very first speakers...a pair of "demoed" RTIA9 tower speakers for $825 from Fry's.  I have 3 weeks left to audition them before the 30day return expires for a full refund.  I have a budget of $2500 but also used $600 towards a Harman Kardon 3700 receiver.  I will be purchasing the remaining center and surround speakers from Polk's ebay store.  After all is said and done this is how my system will look:

$600 HK 3700

$825 Polk RTIA9

$300 Polk CSIA6

$360 Polk FXIA6

$500 BIC PL-200 (2) OR SVS PB-1000

$2,585 TOTAL

However, I am reading good things about the EMP Tek Impression Series and I really like the look of them too!  They are having a sale until the end of the month (November 30).  If I go that route, this is how I would be spending my $2500:

$600 HK 3700

$580 EMP Tek E55Ti

$315 EMP Tek E56Ci

$330 EMP Tek E55Wi

$500 EMP Tek E1010i (2) OR SVS PB-1000

$2,325 TOTAL

So that would be a savings of $260 going the EMP Tek route.  Yes, I understand that the Polk speakers are more powerful than the EMP Teks.  Also, I will eventually make purchase for an external amp to run the RTIA9 (maybe in a year or so).  I don't know if it matters a lot, but the Polk are 8 ohms and the EMP Tek are 6 ohms.  Currently, I will be placing them in my living room (23' W x 15' D x 8' H).  I will be using this setup more for movies (70%) than music (30%).

I really really need and am asking for owners of these speakers and/or the experts/veterans that can give me an insight on the route I should go.  Thank you in advance :) 

7.0 HT Setup:
***Polk RTIA9 / CSIA6 / FXIA6 / RTIA3**Dual PB-2000**Pioneer SC-1222K**Panasonic 65"VT60**Sony BDP-BX510***

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 66 Old 11-21-2013, 09:40 AM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)