Need advice: Center Speaker, Dialogue, Crossovers, and Frequencies - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 22 Old 12-21-2013, 01:10 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

So, I've been reading around here for quite some time but I finally got around to making an account. :)

Anyway, I've been trying to dig up information but I can't seem to find anything specific to what I need to know. So allow me to jump into my set-up:

Fronts: Diamond 9.0

Center:Diamond 9.CC
Surrounds: WH-DFS (dipole)

Yamaha Presence Speakers: Diamond 9.SR

Subwoofer: SW-100

Receiver: Yamaha RX-V773

Note that all the speakers above are from the Wharfedale Diamond 9 HCP with the exception of the the presence speakers.

I've been using this setup for a few months and I noticed that there are sometimes problems with dialogue clarity. I'm guessing that it's probably because of the small center that I'm using. Are there other possible reasons I should be looking at?

If it is the center, I was thinking of jumping into a large center for future-proofing. For timbre matching, I have access to the 9, 10, and 100 series Diamond centers. The 100 looks like a major redesign though (including the lack of a 3-way in the family). Between the 9 and 10, I was looking at the 9.CM and 10.CM. Will these speakers be too large for my setup or will level adjustment resolve that anyway?

I have a few more questions but I'll leave those as a follow-up. TIA!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 Old 12-21-2013, 02:07 AM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 250
My personal opinion is that smaller is often better in a center speaker, because I find that the center speaker should only operate from 100 Hz and above, to provide midrange clarity for voices and instruments.