New front speakers (KEF LS50 vs B&W CM1)? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 18 Old 12-21-2013, 05:06 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Hi all!

I posted this originally to the B&W thread but as my options are now wider I decided to start a new thread.

I just started saving money for new speakers. Here is my current setup:

Wharfedale 10.2 (x2)
Wharfedale 10.CM
SVS SB12-NSD
Anti-Mode 8033Cinema
Denon X1000

I listen to jazz, latin music, r'n'b etc. 50/50 for music and video material. I live in an apartment so I don't normally keep my audio all that loud.

In the last 6 months I've upgraded my system to include the sub (which is perfect!), the new receiver with Audyssey MultEQ XT and ultimately the Anti-Mode for the sub. Now I'm thinking about upgrading the speakers and thought I could ask for guidance here as I'm not that good with different speakers. I like the current setup but sometimes I'm just yearning for something more. I would save money for 3-6 months, sell my Wharfedales and buy something with All That Money. I'm going to keep the sub, the anti-mode and hopefully the receiver, too.

I'm a student (but I also work) so my budget is not so big, let's say that ideally it would be 1200 euros for three speakers but I know that ultimately I'm likely going to spend about 200-300 more. The thing is that I really love having a center speaker! Especially with movies I'm constantly surprised at how great the soundstage is in my living room and I wouldn't like to give that up. I don't live alone so perfect positioning isn't an option. Also the current room is acoustically not that good and I will live in a moderately small or small apartment for the rest of my studies (at least 4 years).

So what are my best options? I have now narrowed it down to:

KEF LS50 (500 euros)
B&W CM1 (400 euros)