Speaker solution for hearing impaired tv viewer? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 10 Old 12-24-2013, 12:56 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12

Hello,

I'm kind of a newbie here, hope I'm posting in the right forum. I am currently renting a furnished apartment, and am pretty much stuck with the equipment and setup that is here, though I can add to it (if it's not too expensive). The tv has a crappy little speaker, it is set up pretty far away from the seating, and I have a partial hearing impairment. So depending on what I'm watching, sometimes I have to crank the sound up so loud that a) I get distortion, and b) my dog gets disgusted and leaves the room :(

I had originally thought to get an inexpensive sound bar, but I realize I would still be cranking the sound up to hear it, just hopefully the sound would be clearer, so I won't have to crank it up quite so loud. Then I thought maybe some decent wireless speakers that I could place nearer to my watching chair would fit the bill, but I know they aren't always the clearest sound.

I'm looking for something that will amplify sound for me, especially dialog, and won't have much distortion. I'd just like to be able to have friends over for movie nights without driving them out with the dog. Sadly, the nature of my hearing impairment is such that fine quality stereo or surround sound is pretty much lost on me any more.

Does anyone have any thoughts about the benefits/downsides to wireless speakers vs. a soundbar in this situation? Any specific suggestions for either type of equipment? Or is there another alternative?

Thanks so much!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 12-25-2013, 10:12 AM
Senior Writer @ AVS

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Quoted: 553 Post(s)
Liked: 1614