Paradigm SE3 best floors for $1000? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 9 Old 12-30-2013, 09:47 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am new to this addiction but learning every day! Heres my boring/interesting story, but you can scroll to next paragraph to cut to the chase! A week ago i was looking at soundbars to improve tv and music capabilities. Then I heard a friends klipsch rf62s which sounded great, although it was just airplaying mp3s. Then i read about a paradigm millenia ct which for $700 supposedly destroys any soundbar sonically. I thought this was a good compromise without having to get a big receiver and floor speakers etc. So i go into a dealer inquiring about these. Of course he does not have them, but then proceeds to show me $500 bookshelfs (a canadian brand, i forget) which sounded awesome. Then for comparison he turns on the entry level paradigm floor speakers , and tells me they will sound fuller. Wow they definitely sounded better and fuler! All of a sudden I now have to get floor speakers (funny how my budget keeps expanding?!). Then he tells me he can cut me a deal on the older model SE 3s which are a step up from the model he just showed me. The SE3s look much nicer than the prior model. Of course these sounded amazing. On a CD he put in, the sound of a cymbal or drum from the left speaker in a bob dylan recording was incredible in terms of clarity and soundstage. I also like that the towers arent too tall...These 3 speakers i listened too all made the klipsch seem harsh/bright too. They also were better than anything i have ever heard at magnolia/bb.