speaker hunting! $700 - $1300 budget - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 14 Old 01-25-2014, 11:51 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I'm looking into upgrading my speaker setup I've had for 7 years now, Fluance AV-HTB+.
Keeping my Energy S10.3 sub.
Harman Kardon AVR247.
My budget range for all 5 speakers is $700-$1300.
My current room is on the smaller side (14' deep, 10' wide, 8' tall, extends another 13 feet towards kitchen on one side), but I hope to move to a bigger space within a couple years, and I'm looking to keep whatever I buy for a very long time.
Usage is 50% TV/movies, 25% games, 25% music.
I'm partial towards having towers and a horizontal center.
I'm a professional musician with good ears, but not an audiophile (yet?)

Here's what I'm looking at, in order of current preference:

Fluance XL-HTB - On the cheaper side, with free shipping to boot. Very pretty - wife will approve.

Arx A5, A2rx-c, A1-b - I like everything I read about this. Particularly it winning the shootout on HTS. A little over my budget with shipping factored in. I understand Arx is getting phased out soon. Worth an extra $600 over the Fluance?

HTD Level 2 or 3 - I live 15 minutes away from HTD near Dallas, so no shipping costs if I want to return after audition. I haven't visited them yet, should soon though. Level 2 is at the bottom end of my budget, 3 is at the top. Not sure which I would go for, or maybe combine if they match well (level 3 fronts and center, level 2 surrounds?).

also considering:

Aperion Intimus 4/5 combination (will they match?)
Emptek Impression E55Ti, E5Bi, E5Ci or E56Ci
Polk TSx440T (my Frys has for $280 per), TSx220B, TSx250c
Klipsch Reference RF-52ii, RC-52ii, RS-41ii

Grant me your wisdom, internets!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 01-26-2014, 03:42 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 239