Thoughts and advice on my planned Home Audio setup - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 20 Old 03-01-2014, 06:51 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hi all. Let me start out by saying, I am a complete novice about a Home Audio setup. I would like a budget system mainly movie/tv watching (60%) and music (40%). My living room (14'Lx11'Wx8'H) opens up to dining room (combined the two is 28'Lx11'Wx8'H). There also is a partitioned room along side of the living room (11'Lx11'Wx8'H). Viewing distance from tv to main listening couch is about 10'. I am looking to buy a A/V receiver with Bluetooth(THIS IS A MUST) and WiFi, 5.1 speakers and sub-woofer. My budget for it all is roughly $1000-$1300. I live in a condo. The whole setup is surround by cement walls, except for where the tv is which has a full wall window. All audio will be facing away from window. I know this is a lot of information but I've learned from reading here that most don't post about the landscape before asking about equipment. Now on to my questions that need addressing.

I currently have a 46in Samsung smart tv (forget the model bought 2 years ago). I have been mostly shopping for products by reviews I've seen posted. So this is what I have come up with for my shopping list: Sony STR-DN840 and Pioneer SP-PK52FS or the Energy Take Classic. I know the Pioneer comes with a sub but I hear its not very good. I was looking to get the speakers separately and purchase another sub. I am open to sub-woofer suggestions. There have been quite a few I've read about. What I am looking for in a sub is something great for movies. Nothing to shake the house, but something that will highlight a movie's low ends needs. If I missed anything on room setup or equipment needs please let me know.

Thank you for any and all advice.

Pioneer SP-FS22 LR

Pioneer SP-C22   C

Pioneer SP-BS22 Surrounds

Sony STR-DN1040

SUBLESS still

Sponsored Links
Advertisement