Best options for my budget? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 13 Old 03-03-2014, 01:16 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I'm new to the home theater world. Not new to audio as I have experience in recording audio, but this is my first journey into the home theater aspect. I have a budget of $650 max. I need a receiver, LR fronts, and a sub. I have a pair of Sony MB100H speakers that my parents picked up almost 15 years ago which I plan to use as surrounds until I can afford new ones. 

Here are my issues. This isn't my home so the speakers need to be either very small, or floorstanding due to limited areas for placement. I looked at the CA Minx Min21's, and they are the perfect size, but I've read that they need a good sub, and I can't afford the ones that most recommend. I thought about the Dayton SUB-1200, but I'm not sure the crossover is high enough for the Min21's. 

I also just started looking into floorstanding speakers thinking they wouldn't need such a good sub. Any truth to that? 

Here is my room setup, and where I plan to place the speakers. What are your thoughts on this setup? My 50" TV is the red bar, the LR fronts are the green dots, the blue dots are the surrounds, and the yellow will be the sub. My family mostly watches from the couch facing the TV. Any other suggestions for me? Thanks so much!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 03-03-2014, 05:40 AM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Quoted: 488 Post(s)
Liked: 461
Well this isn't a very ideal setup, is there a reason why the TV can't go in the entertainment center at the bottom?

I would probably hold off on the surrounds, and just go with a 2.1 setup for now. Some good towers to look at would be the Cambridge Audio S70 These are very popular and currently at closeout prices.

The Denon AVR-E300 is a good entry level choice, it comes with networking and Audssey room correction.