So many choices, can you really go "wrong"? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 31 Old 04-11-2014, 12:33 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 173
I have been researching speakers for a few months now, trying to figure out which speakers to buy. I plan to use them for music half the time, and gaming/movies the other half of the time. I currently have a pair of Energy C-7's, which sound amazing (for both music and movies), but one of the tweeters recently went out. I love the sound of the C-7's though. I believe I got them in 2007. I am also not sure if I should go with a 2.1 or 3.1 set up. I would prefer 2.1, as that way I could get better speakers, and also because 3.1 is useless for music. As far as room size, these would be going in a 10'x12' room. So, experts, if you had $1500 to spend on a pair of speakers (preferably floor-standing), what would you buy? I would spend another $300-$500 on the sub.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 31 Old 04-11-2014, 02:15 AM

Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 24

The only way to go wrong is to base your choice on somebody else's opinion. Go and take time to demo what is in your price range and interest. Dont rule out anything till you've heard them. Good luck.

Focal Chorus 816v, CC800, 807V, SVS PB2000, Cambridge 751r, OPPO 103D.
post #3 of 31 Old 04-11-2014, 02:17 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Francky View Post

The only way to go wrong is to base your choice on somebody else's opinion. Go and take time to demo what is in your price range and interest. Dont rule out anything till you've heard them. Good luck.

The problem is I can not demo most speakers, besides ones sold at bestbuy. I am currently interested in the Focals from a4l, but I was told they can be harsh. I like clarity, but not harsh.
post #4 of 31 Old 04-11-2014, 02:54 AM