Looking to get some bookshelves - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 04-24-2014, 07:39 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
brand11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Central missouri
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hey everyone I'm a first time poster here. I'm currently upgrading my surround sound and was wondering if it'll be ok. I'm looking to get some jbl studio 130 bookshelves, I already have the jbl studio 120c hooked to my old avr. I'm looking to buy the denon avr e400. Just wondering if everything will be okie dokie, any help would be much appreciated
brand11 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 04-24-2014, 07:54 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zieglj01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 10,850
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 348 Post(s)
Liked: 458
You should be fine
brand11 likes this.

__________________________________________
Who and Where - is the Way, the Truth and the Life?

Speakers > MB Quart VS05, Boston VS260, Snell K7
Subwoofer > Mordaunt Short Aviano 7
Receiver > Tascam PAR-200, Pioneer VSX-30
zieglj01 is online now  
post #3 of 12 Old 04-24-2014, 08:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
Gmash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by brand11 View Post

Hey everyone I'm a first time poster here. I'm currently upgrading my surround sound and was wondering if it'll be ok. I'm looking to get some jbl studio 130 bookshelves, I already have the jbl studio 120c hooked to my old avr. I'm looking to buy the denon avr e400. Just wondering if everything will be okie dokie, any help would be much appreciated

Hi, welcome to the forum! I don't see why there would be any problem. The price on those looks hard to beat, especially since you already have the center. Here's a good review.

http://www.avhub.com.au/index.php/Product-Reviews/Hi-Fi/jbl-studio-130.html
brand11 likes this.
Gmash is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 04-24-2014, 08:18 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
brand11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Central missouri
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks ya I'm using my old sony str-k870p right now it was part of a htib years ago. It seems to do well with the center hope it does good with the bookshelves till I get the new reciever
brand11 is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 05-01-2014, 07:05 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
brand11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Central missouri
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have another question if you don't mind, I got the bookshelves yesterday and love them and getting the reciever today. I was wondering in the surrounds would it be best to stay with another set of bookshelves or go with another brand? Or does that even matter? Right now I'm just going to use my old small surround speakers, but looking to get some in the next week or so
brand11 is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 05-01-2014, 07:22 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zieglj01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 10,850
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 348 Post(s)
Liked: 458
^^^ If possible do the same ones - however, if not mainly doing surround music
then a different brand for surrounds is fine.

__________________________________________
Who and Where - is the Way, the Truth and the Life?

Speakers > MB Quart VS05, Boston VS260, Snell K7
Subwoofer > Mordaunt Short Aviano 7
Receiver > Tascam PAR-200, Pioneer VSX-30
zieglj01 is online now  
post #7 of 12 Old 05-01-2014, 07:45 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
brand11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Central missouri
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks I was actually getting some jbl es20's for the surrounds sense they are wall mountable and actually a little smaller box but bigger woofer idk if that'll throw off anything. And they are a bit cheaper
brand11 is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 05-01-2014, 03:10 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
brand11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Central missouri
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hey sorry I have another question is there any need to use the optical cable now sense I have all hdmi hook ups on it?
brand11 is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 05-01-2014, 03:38 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zieglj01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 10,850
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 348 Post(s)
Liked: 458
Quote:
Originally Posted by brand11 View Post

Hey sorry I have another question is there any need to use the optical cable now sense I have all hdmi hook ups on it?
Not really

__________________________________________
Who and Where - is the Way, the Truth and the Life?

Speakers > MB Quart VS05, Boston VS260, Snell K7
Subwoofer > Mordaunt Short Aviano 7
Receiver > Tascam PAR-200, Pioneer VSX-30
zieglj01 is online now  
post #10 of 12 Old 05-01-2014, 06:20 PM
 
GIEGAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,180
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by brand11 View Post

Hey sorry I have another question is there any need to use the optical cable now sense I have all hdmi hook ups on it?

It depends.

Both your AVR and TV/display need to have HDMI v1.4 (or later). These HDMI versions support Audio Return Channel (ARC) which sends audio signal back "upstream" from your TV to your AVR for processing, thus negating the need for another cable. The Denon AVR-E400 (as with most current AVRs) is HDMI v1.4(b), so it's good to go. If your TV is also HDMI v1.4 (or later), no separate audio cable (optical or otherwise) is needed. At least one HDMI port on your TV will be labelled "ARC" if it's supported. Your TV's manual should also confirm this.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:HDMI_1.4_with_Audio_Return_Channel.png
GIEGAR is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 05-05-2014, 03:34 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
brand11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Central missouri
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks, also I'm looking to upgrade my hdmi cables cuz most of them are old, besides the one that came with my xbox witch is actually an hdmi 2.0. These are the ones I ordered http://www.monoprice.com/mobile/Product/Details/3658 and after reading the specs after I read it I realized it doesn't have Ethernet line in them. Would it be best to get some that did so I wouldn't have to run a separate Ethernet to watch device?
brand11 is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 05-05-2014, 03:35 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
brand11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Central missouri
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have everything running to my avr and only have one hdmi hooked up to my tv
brand11 is offline  
Reply Speakers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off