How to connect speaker radio on TV - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 40 Old 05-25-2014, 07:09 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
yapp12's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hello,

 

I would like to plug my radio speaker on my HDTV on RCA jack and also use those 2 speakers of my radio for my radio also, there something I need to buy or how can I do this ?

 

 

On the back on my radio, I connect the speaker cords to the speaker jacks of the same color (red and black).and now I wanna use this for my HDTV also.

 

Here the back on my radio what I have.

 

 

Now I want to use those speaker config and also use it to have son and able to plug on my back of my HDTV in RCA jack (yellow, white and red)

 

Thank you

yapp12 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 40 Old 05-26-2014, 08:16 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,046
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 380
Perhaps you should provide the make and model of your "radio speaker" and TV. That would help tremendously.

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
post #3 of 40 Old 05-26-2014, 08:20 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
yapp12's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

My radio model are Sony HCD-G202 and my HDTV Panasonic TC-32A410

 

thank you

yapp12 is offline  
post #4 of 40 Old 05-26-2014, 10:37 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,046
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 380
Unfortunately there is no way to connect your TV to the Sony system as the Sony has no inputs at all.

That's the problem with all in one units like that as there are no options to connect external devices.

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
post #5 of 40 Old 05-26-2014, 11:41 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
yapp12's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

OK but I saw on ebay some adapter...... there something to connect wire into an adapter switch (IN) and after on the other side (OUT) the RCA plug ?

 

See my 2 pictures I made.

 

 

 

yapp12 is offline  
post #6 of 40 Old 05-26-2014, 11:46 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
yapp12's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

something like this that I plug on the back on the radio at the same place where the wire of the speaker are and the other side inside the TV

 

 

http://www.cafr.ebay.ca/itm/RCA-L-R-To-Speaker-Wire-Adapter-Cable-For-Amp-Receiver-Subwoofer-Hi-Fi-/251163069614?pt=US_Audio_Cables_Adapters&hash=item3a7a7c4cae&_uhb=1

yapp12 is offline  
post #7 of 40 Old 05-26-2014, 11:47 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
yapp12's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Processed By eBay with ImageMagick, z1.1.0. ||B2

this but on the back of the TV into of speaker ?

yapp12 is offline  
post #8 of 40 Old 05-26-2014, 11:51 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
yapp12's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
SPEAKER WIRE TO RCA HI/LOW ADAPTER CONVERTER LINE OUT
 
Processed By eBay with ImageMagick, z1.1.0. ||B2

 


Features:

  • line output hi/low adapter
  • Converts speaker wire signal to dual audio RCA
  • 5-wire design
  • Dual channel
  • For use with car radios up to 50 watts
Adapter converts speaker level outputs from head unit to low level for use with amps and equalizers with RCA type inputs.
No adjustments needed on the unit itself, sends a signal so that you can use the gain control on your amp to adjust level.
yapp12 is offline  
post #9 of 40 Old 05-26-2014, 12:08 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
yapp12's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Processed By eBay with ImageMagick, z1.1.0. ||B2

 

this one ?

yapp12 is offline  
post #10 of 40 Old 05-26-2014, 02:28 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,046
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 380
How do any of those enable him to connect a TV to the receiver when the receiver has no audio inputs?

In addition to that the Panasonic TV only has an optical output.

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
post #11 of 40 Old 05-26-2014, 03:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
jaeelarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 583
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by afrogt View Post

How do any of those enable him to connect a TV to the receiver when the receiver has no audio inputs?

In addition to that the Panasonic TV only has an optical output.


This. Better off buying power speakers with optical in.
jaeelarr is offline  
post #12 of 40 Old 05-26-2014, 03:24 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
yapp12's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I have a receiver TV.... ????? Can I do something ?

 

The third image, is not the solution that I can do ?

yapp12 is offline  
post #13 of 40 Old 05-26-2014, 05:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
skriefal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: SLC, Utah
Posts: 927
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Those adapters will not do what you want. They're used to take the speaker output from an amplifier and convert it to a line-level signal, which can then be fed into an input on another device. They're commonly used when adding an external power amplifier to an existing head-unit in car audio installations. But what you need is a line-level input on your Sony radio/amp, so that you can feed the output of your TV into the radio/amp. You don't have that.

Also, your HDTV doesn't have an analog audio output anyway. So even if your Sony radio/amp had an input it *still* wouldn't work without adding an external DAC (digital-to-analog) audio adapter. And there are additional issues that could be encountered there.

If you want to use different speakers with your HDTV then you have two reasonable options. The first option is to purchase a soundbar with HDMI or optical ("toslink") input. The second option is to purchase a new or used A/V ("stereo") receiver with HDMI or optical ("toslink") inputs.
skriefal is online now  
post #14 of 40 Old 05-26-2014, 05:37 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
yapp12's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yapp12 is offline  
post #15 of 40 Old 05-26-2014, 05:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
skriefal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: SLC, Utah
Posts: 927
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 35
No. You could use those to physically connect speakers to an HDTV (if the HDTV has analog audio outputs --- which yours does not) but the resulting lash-up would not work. There would be no output from the speakers. There is no way to make this work with your TV and your Sony radio/amp/speakers.
skriefal is online now  
post #16 of 40 Old 05-26-2014, 06:00 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
yapp12's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Can I buy this, this are good for my situation and plug my speaker on this A/V receiver and use rado and TV from speakers ?

 

Receiver A/V from Pioneer moel VSX-523-K

yapp12 is offline  
post #17 of 40 Old 05-26-2014, 06:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
skriefal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: SLC, Utah
Posts: 927
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Now you're on the right track! The Pioneer VSX-523-K will work very nicely for you. However, the speakers that are included with those all-in-one systems are often "odd" (of a non-standard impedance), which may prevent them from working properly with the Pioneeer receiver (or with any amp other than the Sony that they were sold with). Is there an impedance rating printed on a sticker on the back of the speakers? It'll be something like "4 ohms", or "16 ohms", or similar. You'll also need to check the type of connector on the speakers, as those all-in-ones sometimes use weird/non-standard speaker connectors.
skriefal is online now  
post #18 of 40 Old 05-26-2014, 06:10 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
yapp12's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I have a question, at the back of my HDTV I have:

 

A/V component audio IN

2 HDMI port

1 digital audio port

 

My question is, why I cannot buy the wire below if I have A/V audio component (white, red, yellow) ?

 

yapp12 is offline  
post #19 of 40 Old 05-26-2014, 06:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
skriefal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: SLC, Utah
Posts: 927
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 35
The A/V Component plugs on your TV are an input, to feed an audio/video signal into the TV. You'd use those to connect a VCR, laserdisc player, or an older gaming system (e.g. a Nintendo Wii, Sega Genesis) to the TV. They cannot be used as an output. That adapter will not work.

Modern HDTVs simply aren't designed to be used with "vintage" audio amplifiers. They don't have the necessary connections (outputs) to make that work. And even if they did, your Sony radio/amp doesn't have an input that could accept the output from the TV. And connecting the speakers directly to the TV won't work either, because you would not have an amplifier to supply power to the speakers.
skriefal is online now  
post #20 of 40 Old 05-26-2014, 06:46 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
yapp12's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

So my only solution is to buy A/V Receiver or Soundbar ?

 

Now the model I send you are good ?

 

 

Quote:
Now you're on the right track! The Pioneer VSX-523-K will work very nicely for you. However, the speakers that are included with those all-in-one systems are often "odd" (of a non-standard impedance), which may prevent them from working properly with the Pioneeer receiver (or with any amp other than the Sony that they were sold with). Is there an impedance rating printed on a sticker on the back of the speakers? It'll be something like "4 ohms", or "16 ohms", or similar. You'll also need to check the type of connector on the speakers, as those all-in-ones sometimes use weird/non-standard speaker connectors.

 

I don't understand... here tje link futureshop.ca/en-CA/product/pioneer-pioneer-5-1-channel-receiver-vsx-523-k-vsx-523-k/10241688.aspx

yapp12 is offline  
post #21 of 40 Old 05-26-2014, 07:19 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
yapp12's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

The Samsung HT-H5530 are good , I can buy from Airmiles !

yapp12 is offline  
post #22 of 40 Old 05-26-2014, 08:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
skriefal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: SLC, Utah
Posts: 927
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 35
That will work. But there are some potentially limiting factors that you should be aware of. The Samsung H5530 has zero HDMI inputs. But it does support HDMI ARC (Audio Return Channel). So if you purchase any other HDMI-based devices -- like a Roku, or FireTV, or Xbox One, or Playstation 4 -- you'll need to connect those directly to your TV. And then use the ARC feature to feed the audio back to the Samsung H5530 over its single HDMI connector. A little limiting, but it will work as long as you can run the extra HDMI cables to your TV. Also, the Samsung H5530 uses non-standard speaker connectors... so you will not be able to ever upgrade the speakers. But that might not matter to you...
skriefal is online now  
post #23 of 40 Old 05-26-2014, 08:28 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
yapp12's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I thing I found something that work, tell me please if this are good

 

 

 

 

HDMI to HDMI + RCA L/R + TOSLINK Audio Extractor | Converter

 

http://www.cafr.ebay.ca/itm/ViewHD-Premium-HDMI-to-HDMI-RCA-L-R-TOSLINK-Audio-Extractor-Converter-2013-/271331213223?pt=US_Audio_Cables_Adapters&hash=item3f2c99bfa7&_uhb=1

yapp12 is offline  
post #24 of 40 Old 05-26-2014, 08:33 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
yapp12's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

This converter are good ?

 

 

 

 

  

 

======================================

 

 

This adapter is designed to convert HDMI signal to RCA, Coaxial, Toslink and HDMI.
This decoder supports Linear PCM (stereo).
Supports sampling rate at 48 kHz.
Input DC 5V, adapter charger included.

 

yapp12 is offline  
post #25 of 40 Old 05-26-2014, 09:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
skriefal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: SLC, Utah
Posts: 927
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 35
The first converter won't work. It converts analog video and audio to HDMI. That's not what you want. The second converter most likely won't work. It would need to support HDMI ARC (which it probably doesn't), and would also require an analog audio input (red + white 'RCA' connectors) on your Sony amp. It was stated above that your Sony amp does not have an input. Can you verify that statement?

If you Sony amp does not have an analog audio input then there is no converter available that would work. You can keep looking and hoping but you won't find anything. You'll need a different amplifier, and possibly also different speakers. Or a soundbar with HDMI or opttical/toslink input.
skriefal is online now  
post #26 of 40 Old 05-26-2014, 09:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
skriefal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: SLC, Utah
Posts: 927
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 35
I'll recommend this to you -- shop your local Craigslist site (or similar classifieds web site) for an older A/V receiver that has an optical (toslink) digital input. Then connect your TV's optical digital output to the A/V receiver's optical digital input. Make sure that you set the TV (via its menus) to send a standard PCM stereo signal through the optical digital output. That will work for you -- if your speakers are compatible -- and you can probably do this for $50 or less.

Or buy the Samsung system that you linked above.
skriefal is online now  
post #27 of 40 Old 05-27-2014, 04:45 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
yapp12's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Yes yes I know but I would like to know if the image on post #24 are good ?

yapp12 is offline  
post #28 of 40 Old 05-27-2014, 06:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
skriefal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: SLC, Utah
Posts: 927
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 35
You're asking if you'll get a good image (picture) when using one of those HDMI adapters? The first type of adapter converts a composite video signal (and analog audio) to HDMI. I have not used one of these so cannot state whether it would be good. The second type of adapter passes through the HDMI video signal untouched, and separates out the audio signal. These are okay... if you have a use for them.
skriefal is online now  
post #29 of 40 Old 05-27-2014, 06:47 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
yapp12's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

So I can take the second picture adapter for my sound speaker and image right or not ?

yapp12 is offline  
post #30 of 40 Old 05-27-2014, 09:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
skriefal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: SLC, Utah
Posts: 927
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 35
It is not clear what you are hoping to do with that adapter. It will not allow you to connect your existing Sony amp/speakers to your TV. That would require an analog audio input on your Sony amp, which you've stated above that you do not have.

Were you hoping to use it for something else? You'll need to provide more details.
skriefal is online now  
Reply Speakers
Gear in this thread - H5530 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off