Need advice on speakers for my desk. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 44 Old 06-07-2014, 07:19 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Greetings

I'm in the market for a 2.1 system for use with my computer. I'm a programmer by day so spend far too much time at my desk in front of the computer listening to music.

I recently ordered and then returned the brand new Polk Hamden computer speakers. I absolutely adored their sound but was not impressed with the lack of low frequency and air shake. They absolutely should have a sub, but there is no way to connect one. Thus, back they went.

This is what i was considering:

- 2x LSiM703 (Cherry)
- 1x Emotiva Stealth DC-1 • http://shop.emotiva.com/collections/...s/stealth-dc-2
- 1x Emotiva XPA-200 • http://shop.emotiva.com/collections/...roducts/xpa200

- 1x Some sort of Sub

Questions:

- Are the LSiM's overkill for my needs? Would i be better off with RTiA3's and a sub?

- Can you recommend a solid ready-made solution that would be of similar quality to Polk?

(Klipsch tends to be a bit bright for me)

My requirements are follows:

- Non floor-standing, Needs to fit reasonably on my desk.

- At least 2 digital in, USB / Toslink.

- Physical volume knob easily accessible.
    Years ago i had a set of Logitech's that had a giant knob: http://puu.sh/9hB4h/e944b0e6a8.png
    Trying to find something similar. Is just easy to get to if keyboard controls are out of the question.
    (I think they would be on all digital connections, I use a Mac)

- Lows that cause air shake not wall shake if that makes sense.
- For use at a computer desk. Mainly music, occasionally movies / tv / games.

- Most of my music is from iTunes / Pandora @ 320k

I hope i've provided enough information and asked my questions clearly.

Please let me know if not.

Thank you!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 44 Old 06-07-2014, 11:44 PM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)