AVS Forum banner

Looking for a decent budget slim/low profile center channel to match Pioneer SP-FS52

4K views 7 replies 6 participants last post by  fatbottom 
#1 ·
Hey guys, I'm new to Home Theater, although not new to audio, I've been into car audio for about 12 years.

I just bought a Sony STR-DN850 and a set of the Pioneer SP-FS52 Andrew Jones floor speakers for my new home, and I'd like to add a low profile center channel, and a sub or two as well. I didn't got for the Andrew Jones center channel because it's a bit too bulky and I didn't want to ruin the look of my new entertainment center.

So I'm looking for a center channel speaker that is lower than 4 inches in height, preferably under $200.

Let me know what you think and any advice would be much appreciated, thanks!
Here's what I have so far:

See less See more
#3 ·
Your front three speakers need to be timbre matched, using a different center than the Pioneer C22 is going to create imaging problems, especially when you have your mains spaced so far apart. Also it will be difficult to find a center that small and you will likely be restricted to a small satellite speaker which won't be ideal for what I assume is a good sized space.

I would forego a center unless you move your TV up. I would rather have no center than an undersized/mismatched one. You should still get some phantom center effect from the mains though.

And one additional comment about your L and R placement, you need to pull them forward a little bit because right now they are shooting into the side of the TV stand, leading to some unnecessary reflections. This slight adjustment should also improve the phantom center effect.

#4 ·
I thought about moving the TV up, I think I will try that and get the Pioneer center eventually. I'll probably just keep it 2 channel for now though. Would it be a bad idea to add bookshelf speakers to my L and R as well or should I just keep the towers only?