4Likes

post #1 of 58 Old 06-25-2014, 03:12 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Please recommend high-end tower speakers for my bedroom

Room size: 20' x 14' x 10'

Current system: I'm a newbie. 2 months ago, I bought the following to start and play with: Sony STR-DN840 receiver, Pioneer SP-PK52FS speakers, Outlaw Audio LFM-1 Plus Subwoofer. I also installed some sound panels and bass traps. Although currently I have a 7.1 setup, I almost never watch movies. Just music (all kinds). So I figured I might just need to buy two tower speakers (and maybe a matching receiver too), given that my sub is decent (but if necessary, I don't mind upgrading the sub too).

Budget: I don't have a hard budget. I feel comfortable with 5,000, but don't mind 10,000 (or even 20,000. But it doesn't make sense to buy those extremely expensive ones because I only have average ears and won't be able to hear the difference. Also they're usually too heavy)

Preference: great value. not too heavy, ideally less than 80 lbs. I don't mind used speakers (in case you have something to get rid of ) as long as they're in mint condition.

If possible, please be specific with the brand and model, ideally with a little justification. Thanks much!

Last edited by atx2014; 06-25-2014 at 11:07 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 58 Old 06-25-2014, 03:38 AM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 455 Post(s)
Liked: 202
Focal
http://www.focal.com/en/88-high-fidelity-home-cinema

Kef
http://www.kef.com/html/gb/showroom/...iew/index.html
http://www.kef.com/html/gb/showroom/...ries/overview/

Krell Evolution 900e x 7

Bose Jewel speakers.

Jealous of my speakers?

Last edited by fatbottom; 06-25-2014 at 03:42 AM.
post #3 of 58 Old 06-25-2014, 10:36 AM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Quoted: 434 Post(s)
Liked: 429