I'm New at This - Home Theater Assistance? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 6 Old 07-08-2014, 07:36 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I'm New at This - Home Theater Assistance?

Thank you in advance for your help, it's been several years since I've researched any A/V equipment so I'm leaning on you guys for a little help.

In general, here is my current layout and existing equipment:

Room size - 22' wide x 17' deep x 10' ceiling (3,740 cf, three sides of the room are essentially solid walls, the forth side consists of a few windows and a door, floor is carpet and ceiling is drywall)
Listening distance - 10'
There are no restraints with speaker placement or size
I plan on watching TV and movies 90%, gaming 5% and music 5%

My existing equipment - Pioneer Elite VSX-21TXH (110w x 7, 8 ohms), a JBL PSW-D110 sub and a Panasonic TC-P55ST30 television.

I have previously had a 5.1 system and enjoyed it so perhaps I'm leaning in that direction versus a 7.1 system. I have spent the last SEVERAL hours of my life reading multiple reviews and forum posts and don't really feel as if I'm any closer to a decision now than where is was when I started. With that being said, I have penciled in the EMP Tek E55TI (fronts), E56CI (center) and E5Bib's (rears). While I have you here, in a 5.1 are the surrounds supposed to be mounted at the rear or the sides?

If I go with a 5.1, should I buy the E5Bib's or the E55WI's for the surrounds? What if I decide to pony up for the 7.1 system?

Ideally the budget would be around $1,500, but if there is a system or setup that would make a noticeable difference I will go up to the $2k +/- range. I'm not one to let a few hundred dollars get in the way of doing it right for the long term. Obviously this budget is being allocated for the new speakers needed, if I need to replace any of the existing equipment I will have to dig a little deeper into the pocket.