AVS Forum banner

Sonos Vs Polk RTI A1 vs Everything Else. Speaker Ideas For Large Room.

6K views 8 replies 4 participants last post by  pulp25 
#1 ·
I'm very new to the speaker scene. I am trying to find the best bang for your buck versatile setup for a 900 square foot room. I am open to absolutely any setup ideas under $2000. We listen to a little of all types of music. What do you guys recommend?

Also, Sonos seems to get good reviews. Sound wise how do they compare to other speakers?

Here is what I've come up with so far...

Option A:

6 sonos play 1 speakers - $1200
1 sonos subwoofer - $700
1 Bridge - $49

Total: $1949

Option B:
6 Polk Audio RTI A1 speakers: $781.41
Link: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000V2UBS8/ref=ox_sc_act_title_4?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER

1 Yamaha RX-V675 7.2 Channel Network AV Receiver: $399.95
Link: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00B981F1U/ref=ox_sc_act_title_2?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER

1 Polk Audio PSW505 12-Inch Powered Subwoofer $254.94
Link:http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000092TT0/ref=ox_sc_act_title_3?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER

Total: 1436.40

See less See more
#3 ·
My choice hands down would be Option B. Between the 2, but why get 6 speakers when surround system only needs 5?

900 sq ft? So assuming that it has 8ft ceilings that is 7200 cu. ft. that space is HUGE.

What are the plans for this room? Just background listening or bringing down the house loud partying?

#6 ·
My choice hands down would be Option B. Between the 2, but why get 6 speakers when surround system only needs 5?