All new speakers or partial upgrade from HTIB? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

Old 07-14-2014, 02:22 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question All new speakers or partial upgrade from HTIB?

I've been using the speakers from the Onkyo HT-S9100THX for a few years (long since had to replace the receiver), and I'm now hearing distortion in the left front channel. I'm considering either just replacing the front pair, or possibly replacing the entire set.

My setup is a little unique as I have a loft with tall ceilings. The living room where the system lives has 18' ceilings at the front and back walls, vaulting to 20' high in the center of the room. The room is 12' deep from front to back wall, and 16' wide, but is also open on the right side to the kitchen on the lower floor and the loft bedroom above. There's a 16' tall x 5' wide window on the left wall. The surround L/R channels are mounted at 10' high, 8' to either side of the listening position, 4 inches in front of the back wall, and instead of back surrounds I have front height channels (Sony STR-DN1040 7.2 receiver).

I would appreciate some help in understanding where the speakers I have stack up in comparison to others. Specifically:

1. Are the surrounds and the sub worth holding on to and if so what new fronts would you recommend to go with them?

2. If I looked at all-new speakers, what would be similar to what I have now, and what would be an upgrade?

3. I am intrigued by Orb Audio, and they already have wife approval, but I have no idea whether those would even be better than what I have now. Would they even be a possibility in my space? OK to pair them with the existing sub?

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-14-2014, 03:07 PM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Quoted: 530 Post(s)
Liked: 536