Forum Jump: 
 5Likes

post #1 of 89 Old 07-16-2014, 01:47 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 0
What Speakers To Get? Noob Here

Hey Guys, I'm a noob to the HT world. I have a soundbar right now but I'm over the sound already. I do about 50% movies and 50% music. Yesterday I went to Frys to listen to a couple floorstanding speakers after reading some recommended threads. I wasn't really impressed with any, maybe it was how they were setup? All against a wall in a room probably not calibrated. I want more crisp (bright) tweeter sounds and they all sounded pretty dull. I tried the P363, the speakers were punched in probably from kids running in the store maybe that affected the sound. I also heard the Klipsch RF42 while there and they sounded decent at most. After reading reviews online I was expecting to get blown away by the sound I was going to hear but frankly my soundbar sounded better than what I experienced there. I know bose sucks and I wouldn't buy it but there presentation and sound was much better at the store, I can see how they sell a lot of equipment. Anyway, I come here to get your input on what I should get. As far as budget I would say about $1000 is fine, I have credit cards so I'm flexible. Also, for now I would need to start with a 3.0 or 3.1 because it seems like a mission to run cable from surrounds because my living room is kinda in the middle since I have an open concept house. I'm not sure if I should start with bookshelf speakers or floorstanding, I wouldn't be opposed to getting bookshelf speakers first and eventually moving them as surround. Your input would be great thank you in advance!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	home.jpg
Views:	81
Size:	56.6 KB
ID:	165281   Click image for larger version

Name:	home1.jpg
Views:	64
Size:	73.6 KB
ID:	165289   Click image for larger version

Name:	home2.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	79.0 KB
ID:	165297  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement