in ceiling speakers - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!

Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By ack_bk

post #1 of 15 Old 07-17-2014, 11:33 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Arrow in ceiling speakers

total newbie

I saw in ceiling speakers at my friends place, he bought a new house and the builder put them for him
he has all speakers in the ceiling, one subwoofer lying around the side

I am looking at cheap option - Pyle PDIC80

tell me where to get started, what amp/wires/other things that I need to buy

how do pyle compare to polks etc

I have a single story house, these are for family living room, my tv is on the wall above fireplace, so not much place to put too much stuff there.

Another idea would be use to use newer wireless tech...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 07-17-2014, 12:02 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 106
If you are trying to do this on the cheap, I would get these for your mains (note $159 is the price for a pair). They can sell you a third one for the center channel as well without having to buy a pair:
http://www.htd.com/Products/high-def...iling-speakers

Use these for surrounds and other speakers in the house:
http://www.htd.com/Products/multi-pu...iling-speakers

For a receiver, you just need something entry level.
http://www.amazon.com/Denon-AVR-E200...keywords=denon

I would get your speaker wire at Monoprice:
http://www.monoprice.com/Category?c_id=102&cp_id=10239

Maybe something like this for a subwoofer:
http://www.parts-express.com/dayton-...oofer--300-629

If you can share your budget and expectations we can help you better, but I was assuming you wanted to do this on the cheap.