Forum Jump: 
 8Likes

post #1 of 37 Old 07-26-2014, 01:02 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Crack in speaker cone, should I be concerned? [pic included]

Hi, I am a speaker noob and one of my Boston Acoustic CR8s has had this little crack for a while. I'm including a link since it is a small crack and might not be visible if the image gets resized.

http://gibble.crabdance.com/~shamoun/speaker.jpg

I am wondering if this is something I should be concerned about. Is there a need to fix it, if so, how?
As far as I can tell it doesn't affect sound quality, but I don't exactly have golden ears.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 37 Old 07-26-2014, 01:20 PM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Quoted: 341 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Is that actually a crack, or just a bit of glue? No worries if it's glue.

If it's a crack, it is probably easy and relatively inexpensive to replace the driver, if you contact the manufacturer.

Not sure if it will sound different, but it might be worth a little $ for peace of mind.
totesmuhgoats likes this.
post #3 of 37 Old 07-26-2014, 01:43 PM - Thread Starter

I didn't even consider that it might be glue. Like I said, I am very new to this.

I took some more pictures to help discern, not sure if they are helpful. Also, I ran my finger over it and it has a bit of texture, can't really tell though.
Also, I am very reluctant to touch the exposed speakers just because I worry I might damage them, but they are probably more resilient than I think they are. There shouldn't be any harm in running your finger across the cone should there?

http://gibble.crabdance.com/~shamoun...726_123302.jpg
http://gibble.crabdance.com/~shamoun...726_123341.jpg
post #4 of 37 Old 07-26-2014, 01:52 PM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Quoted: 481 Post(s)
Liked: 209
looks like glue

Krell Evolution 900e x 7

Bose Jewel speakers.

Jealous of my speakers?

post #5 of 37 Old 07-26-2014, 03:22 PM