Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 8 Old 08-01-2014, 09:51 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
KEF LS50 vs B&W PM1

Hi All,

I am trying to put together a 5.1 system and have the opportunity to purchase a used pair of PM1s for $1800 and could possibly get them a bit lower. I love the finish and style of the PM1s but I've seen all the great reviews on the LS50s which I know are $1500 new. Unfortunately there are no local dealers for the LS50 so I can't audition them. I was wondering if anyone has experience with both these speakers and could answer a few questions.

1) Obviously, which sound better?

2) I bought a pair of Noble in-wall L-65 lcrs for my rear surrounds. Would the LS50s be a good match for these?

3) Will either speaker pair be sufficient as a "phantom center" in a 4.1 setup? I eventually plan to buy a 3rd LS50 or perhaps a B&W HTM2 or similar center depending on which L/R speakers I end up with. I have no experience with a 4.1 setup but I've heard it can do the job as well as a center only with more restriction on seating position.

4) I have an older 5.1 Yamaha receiver with 75wpc. Will that be enough to drive them? My room is 14.5' deep x 17.5' wide and is open to a kitchen/breakfast area with similar dimensions.

5) With the room dimensions listed in #4 will I be disappointed in SPL given the PM1's 84db and the LS50s 85db sensitivity? I plan on eventually upgrading my receiver to a yamaha aventage rxa740 with 90wpc.

6) Would I see much difference in the speakers listed and say 3 B&W 685 S2s? They would certainly hurt less in the $$$ department...

Thanks in advance!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 08-02-2014, 04:42 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 153