5.0 surround sound setup - I need some advice - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

Old 08-05-2014, 09:11 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 10
5.0 surround sound setup - I need some advice

Hi, I am a surround newbie, and I have a small living room where I would like to setup speakers for a small 5.0 home theater system.

Because of the neighbors in the surrounding apartments, loud volume and deep bass from a subwoofer is not possible in any way. I am not interestet in roomshaking bass effects, instead I am looking for realistic reproduction of voices/dialog and surround effects at low-medium volume.

I am thinking of getting four bookshelf speakers and a center speaker, but no subwoofer.

How would such a setup work?

Any suggestions on how to get it to work in the best possible way?

Is it possible to exclude/turn of the LFE effects in the receiver, so the speakers do not have to play the lowest frequencies?

Would it put to much strain on the receiver running all five speakers without a subwoofer?

I have a Marantz nr1604 surround receiver that I want to use in the setup.

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-05-2014, 09:12 AM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Quoted: 434 Post(s)
Liked: 429
What is your listening distance and budget? Will these be in stands, wall-mounted, or placed on a shelf?

Denon AVR-1713 | EMP E55Ti | EMP E56Ci | EMP E5Bi | BIC F-12
Old 08-05-2014, 10:03 AM - Thread Starter

The distance from hotspot to the center speaker will be around 3.0m and 3.5m to the left and the right speaker. The distance to the back speakers is not certain yet, but around 3.0m. The speakers will be on stands and/or some kind of shelf. My budget limit is 2000 dollars.
But will it work without a subwoofer?
Old 08-05-2014, 10:25 AM
AVS Addicted Member

Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Quoted: 416 Post(s)
Liked: 510
Are you from Canada?

Speakers > MB Quart VS05, Boston VS260, Snell K7
Subwoofer > Mordaunt Short Aviano 7