Thought I'd Share My Experience With Emptek e55ti and Philharmonitor - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 7Likes
  • 3 Post By richabi
  • 1 Post By zieglj01
  • 1 Post By postrokfan
  • 1 Post By RicardoJoa
  • 1 Post By Elihawk

post #1 of 16 Old 08-09-2014, 11:03 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Thought I'd Share My Experience With Emptek e55ti and Philharmonitor

Hey guys,
I had the chance to BRIEFLY listen to these two speakers. I was sharing this with Jim Wilson and figured i would share with AVS.

Both are great. Now, I must admit, the room wasn't the best place to audition- tile floors, bare walls, balcony windows behind the speakers. However, I did notice some interesting characteristics of each speaker. We weren't using any high quality sources.. he was streaming from the best of youtube. I am no pro nor have a lot of experience so this is just raw judgement, take it as you will. I know not everyone would hear the same or agree but I figured it still would be nice to share and add this to the community.

The emp alone sounded nice. Soundstage was huge. It was fast and accurate. Clear, articulate...all The qualities of solid sounds someone would expect. It sounded no different than what was expected of quality speakers. If you had a bunch set up all over, I would say the room would sound like a movie theater without the low end.

I can tell when played separately, the Philharmonic bookshelf has this extra dimension to the mid mid/upper. It almost pulls sounds or effects you normally wouldn't hear to the front. Almost as surround speakers would do... Maybe it was the effect of imaging with ribbon tweeter? As I mentioned before, some ears might find that soundstage cluttered or annoying. I really enjoyed their dynamicsit for the brief time I had with them. I needed more time and diff samples with them to give a more thorough explanation though.