Newbie in every way - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 4 Old 08-12-2014, 05:11 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Newbie in every way

I managed to find a great deal on bowers and wilkins 685s2 and the b and w 8 inch sub as well as a yamaha rx a1030 amp.

I am just starting with all of this and was likely sold on it from the best buyers.

Just of my question is what is the deal with b and w? I lostened to attain Logan, def tech, and the bowers compared to the bowers and selected the bowers. I'm new to all of this, so what kind of person does this make me? I planning on getting either a rega rp1 or project debut carbon as well as the moderate home theatre setup.

Again, I'm trying to find my way amongst all of you audiophiles. Is this a good setup for a small, but fairly open room with hardwood floors etc?

Will the tt need am additional pre amp to bypass the factory In the amp I have?

Am I in the wrong area here? Maybe a different forum.

A simple go to here will doing so.

Sorry for wasting your time reading this.

Thanks for reading it if this is a good question.

Happy listening,
Mike
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 08-12-2014, 06:03 PM

Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 17
No apology needed. Everyone needs help at first. I've never heard the B&W bookshelf speakers you purchased, but have read good reviews from reviewers and others who have purchased.

I assume since you've purchased an AV receiver you at least purchased five of the 682s with the sub. I think this would be a very decent first surround system for movies. Yamaha to me is a very good home theater receiver, but I prefer others for music.