Installing a On/Off Toggle Switch for Speakers - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 08-21-2014, 03:25 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Installing a On/Off Toggle Switch for Speakers

Hi,

I have a cheapie sound system in my house (2 speaker Philips, $100 from Target). I also have some nice outdoor speakers installed on the back porch that a former owner left behind. I connected both the outdoor speakers and the two indoor speakers to the Philips stereo/receiver. Since I only have enough ports on the back of the receiver for two speakers, I had to pair up the speaker wires (one red indoor + one red outdoor; one black indoor + one black outdoor) and insert into the black and red ports. Then repeat that process a second time and push those wires into the other pair of red/black ports. So now I have four speakers powered up and it works fine.

My problem is that the speakers inside are louder than the speakers outside. So when I want to play music outside at a reasonable volume, it gets too loud in the house. By the way, the outdoor speakers are no louder if I manually disconnect the indoor speakers from the ports. Also, the outdoor speaker volume is controlled by a dial in the kitchen. I have the dial turned up to max volume.

My thinking was that I would use a lamp cord switch on the indoor speakers so I can flip the switch and turn off the indoor speakers. That way I can crank up the outdoor volume without causing people to flee the interior of the house with blood dripping from their ears.

Is this a good solution to my problem? If not, what is?

The outdoor speaker wire is thick Monster cable. There is about 50 feet of cable between the receiver and the speaker. The indoor speaker wire is super thin (24 gauge?) wire and only 4 feet of wire from the receiver to the speaker.

Thank you for your thoughts.
David Broadway is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 08-21-2014, 03:40 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I'd go with a speaker selector instead. They can be had pretty cheaply:

http://www.amazon.com/RadioShack-Pow...eaker+selector
bleu_falcon is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 08-21-2014, 07:32 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by bleu_falcon View Post
I'd go with a speaker selector instead. They can be had pretty cheaply:

http://www.amazon.com/RadioShack-Pow...eaker+selector
Thank you. That is a perfect solution. Truly appreciate the help.
David Broadway is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 08-21-2014, 08:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
bluewizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 560
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 275 Post(s)
Liked: 88
bluewizard is offline  
Reply Speakers



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off