Audioengine A5 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 08-30-2014, 07:30 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Audioengine A5

I own a set of Audioengine a2 and a5 speakers, things have been very satisfying for me! However, since a week or so my set of a5 speakers started to make a strange noise while playing and even while not playing anything. It sounds like some crackling/popping sounds along with some sort of 'blowing in microphone' sort of sound. I already tried replacing the speaker cables and AC cable. And I used different power outlets along with changing the positions of the speakers. However nothing seems to fix the problem. Could it be a bad capacitor or something?

I can upload a video of the sound it produces, if that would further clarify my issue.
martinussanders is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 08-30-2014, 10:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
postrokfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Ft. Collins, CO
Posts: 2,590
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 355
It sounds like the amplifier is going south. I would contact Audioengine support. Hopefully they're still under warranty.

"Guns for show, knives for a pro..."
postrokfan is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 08-30-2014, 11:09 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I think they aren't under warranty anymore. However I tore them apart and saw this one blacked out cable on the PCB, see attachment 1. I reckon it should look like something on the photo of attachment 2. There is a capacitor on the other side of the pcb/burnt wire.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0608.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	233.4 KB
ID:	237418   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0609.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	203.8 KB
ID:	237426  
martinussanders is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 08-30-2014, 11:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
postrokfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Ft. Collins, CO
Posts: 2,590
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 355
That looks like a fairly straightforward repair if you are comfortable with soddering and can find the parts. If not, you could take it to an electronics repair shop. Or option 3, you could contact Audioengine and see if they would do the repair for a fee.

"Guns for show, knives for a pro..."
postrokfan is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 08-30-2014, 11:50 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
And what do you reckon the problem is? The faulty/burnt wire or the capacitor underneath? Could a broken capacitor lead to such problems?
martinussanders is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 08-30-2014, 12:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
postrokfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Ft. Collins, CO
Posts: 2,590
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 355
Hard to say without doing some troubleshooting with a multimeter. After thinking about it and seeing the burnt wire I'm not so sure this is a situation where a repair can be done. Also, if the capacitor has gone bad generally there's some evidence of fluid leaking around the edges.

"Guns for show, knives for a pro..."

Last edited by postrokfan; 08-30-2014 at 12:03 PM.
postrokfan is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 08-30-2014, 12:07 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have a multimeter at hand, so measuring would't be a problem. However, while i'm rather handy around electronics I'm not sure wat to measure at this point.
martinussanders is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 08-31-2014, 12:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
postrokfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Ft. Collins, CO
Posts: 2,590
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 355
Does your meter have the option to check for continuities? If you can, solid connections will measure 0 ohms while shorted or partial connections will measure higher. If you plan to do this make sure the speakers aren't plugged in of course and be aware that capacitors can store energy for quite a while depending on the amp design.

"Guns for show, knives for a pro..."
postrokfan is offline  
Reply Speakers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off