AVS Forum banner

$1000 budget for a 2.1 System

3K views 26 replies 16 participants last post by  darthray 
#1 ·
Hello Guys,

I am very new to this audio world. I recently purchased a new house, looking to buy a decent sound system to watch movie and stream music. I recently got a Yamaha RX-V377 receiver as a gift. I understand it's a beginner receiver, i would like to make the best out of it and see if it will be capable for the following speakers I am interested in:

My original plan was to get this:

Klpshc RF-42II 5.1 Home theater with SW310 Sub from Acoustic sound design web store

2 RF-42II Towers
1 RC-42II Center Speaker
2 Klipsch RS-41II Surround Speakers
1 SW-310 Subwoofer

But now I am not sure if i really need the 5.1 . i think I might be okay to start with a bigger speakers (Klipsch RF-52II Reference Series Speakers with the Klipsch Sub-12HG ) and add more speakers in the future.

What do you guys suggest? I am really trying to stay around $1000 budget and use the RX0v377 receiver. But worse case I can always sell the receiver and get a better one if you guys suggest.

I am really new to the audio world, I purchased the Samsung 5.1 Home theater system and was not happy with it. Sold it a month after and now looking to get a better quality sound system for my home.

Please advise, Thank you!

See less See more
#2 ·
Post a few pictures of your room, that will give us better idea to whether you should start with floorstanding speakers (tower) or bookshelf speakers + subwoofer..

#4 ·
Thank you! I will post some pictures when i get home tonight

I would go with a pair of bookshelf speakers and a sub to start with. After that, add a center speaker. After that, add another sub. And after sub #2 , get your surround speakers. If you like the Klipsch sound, I would get a pair of RB-61 speakers. I would not get Klipsch subs though. I would go for a Hsu VTF2 mk4 or a Rythmik LV12r at the very least.