AVS Forum banner

Need help-Speaker upgrade

1K views 53 replies 13 participants last post by  dsrussell 
#1 ·
Hi all,
Another newbie here. I am considering getting new speakers for my front L/R. My current setup includes Polk monitor 50/ Polk CS10/Polk monitor 50 as L/C/R , Velodyne sub and Denon AVR 1713. I am thinking about switching the monitor 50s with Chane A3rx-c. I am keeping the CS10 and the Velodyne. My use is 90% music and 10% HT. Would bringing in the A3rx-c's make any considerable improvement in my setup? If not can you suggest another in the below $600/pair range? Room size 24X15.

Also, would adding an amp to the A3rx-c's benefit or I am good with the 1713? Since my receiver does not have pre outs I would have to upgrade the receiver as well if I decide to get the amp. I am on a tight budget, so, trying to minimize the expenses here. Thank you all for your time and help.

#2 ·
Its always good to timbre match the center and the mains. I would advice against upgrading just the mains. If your budget doesnt allow LCR upgrade I would suggest hold off and save a little more till you can afford to upgrade all 3. OR you could just get nice L/R speakers with your current sub and get rid of the center channel (since 90% of your use is music).
Even if you get the Chane , your receiver should be adequate to drive those.

#10 ·
before I upgraded my klipsch, I asked a few questions at a high end boutique selling speakers to kinda educate my ears on what sounds can be heard from a well recorded song, and also a lesson in what to look for in music. Boy was that a mistake :) for the better. If you have a chance listen to some great speakers and try to match to your budget. I am still amazed by hearing music in different parts of the room from just 2 speakers. also amazed at ear fatigue and other adjectives used in the audiophile realm. my point is educate yourself 1st, then go shopping/listening at your pricepoint.

#16 ·