Paradigm Owners Thread - Page 40 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 8Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1171 of 30405 Old 02-24-2006, 07:16 PM
Member
 
scope1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hometheaterbythesea worked for me. Mint certified speakers were actually brand new in unopened boxes. I saw one minor defect in a tweeter a slight dimple and they promised to send another pronto.
scope1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1172 of 30405 Old 02-24-2006, 08:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JohnGZ28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,845
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by scope1 View Post

Hometheaterbythesea worked for me. Mint certified speakers were actually brand new in unopened boxes. I saw one minor defect in a tweeter a slight dimple and they promised to send another pronto.

Let us know how that works out for you.

JohnG
JohnGZ28 is offline  
post #1173 of 30405 Old 02-24-2006, 09:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Yosh70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sask. Canada
Posts: 2,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by brubacca View Post

You system looks really nice. I would recommend you add an external 200W amp for the Studio 80's. I'm sure they would benefit from the added juice! Look for something used if you have to. Maybe in the Rotel/B&K/Acurus/Parasound realm. Another option would be a pair of 200W monoblocks from Outlaw. One of the guys over in the Outlaw forum has a pair of Studio 60s with the older M-200 amps.

Good Luck,

Charlie

Why would you recommend an external amp? The Marantz SR9600 is a top rated receiver and would be more than capable of driving those 80's sufficiently. Unless his room is the size of a small gym, I'm sure he'd be wasting his money.

A better recommendation would be upgrading the sub....a front firing PW or Servo would be a welcome addition to his setup. PS series decent output but too boomy and sloppy compared to the other series.
Yosh70 is offline  
post #1174 of 30405 Old 02-25-2006, 02:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JohnGZ28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,845
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yosh70 View Post

Why would you recommend an external amp? The Marantz SR9600 is a top rated receiver and would be more than capable of driving those 80's sufficiently. Unless his room is the size of a small gym, I'm sure he'd be wasting his money.

A better recommendation would be upgrading the sub....a front firing PW or Servo would be a welcome addition to his setup. PS series decent output but too boomy and sloppy compared to the other series.

Definitely not a waste of money adding an external amp. Your recommendation to upgrade the sub is probably a better first move though. If funds allow it a dedicated amp can do wonders.

JohnG
JohnGZ28 is offline  
post #1175 of 30405 Old 02-25-2006, 04:17 AM
Senior Member
 
brubacca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Mount Laurel, NJ
Posts: 406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I made my recommendation of adding an external amp for the Studio 80 based on things I have read over the years about people using Studio Series Speakers. I have read repeatedly about how people added an external amp and it opened up the performance of their Studio 60/80/100 speakers.

This is another argument all together, but I am a big fan of seperates. I just looked at that specs for that SRX9600 and I would have to say for that much money that Receiver better handle the Studio 80s at least pretty well.

Regards,

Charlie
brubacca is offline  
post #1176 of 30405 Old 02-26-2006, 10:48 AM
Member
 
scope1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks all. The reason I asked about an external amp is that I have my Yamaha DSP 1 just hanging around.. I was looking to put it to use if it made sense. I am sure that my Marantz SR 9600could handle everything just fine. Ill let you know I should have everything up and running in 2 weeks.
scope1 is offline  
post #1177 of 30405 Old 02-26-2006, 11:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JohnGZ28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,845
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by scope1 View Post

Thanks all. The reason I asked about an external amp is that I have my Yamaha DSP 1 just hanging around.. I was looking to put it to use if it made sense. I am sure that my Marantz SR 9600could handle everything just fine. Ill let you know I should have everything up and running in 2 weeks.

If you have a good relationship with your dealer ask if you can demo a couple of amps in home. I tried out a Rotel 1095 and Anthem A2 in home, both made an improvement. I liked the A2 better. Unfortunately budget will not allow either at this time.

JohnG
JohnGZ28 is offline  
post #1178 of 30405 Old 02-26-2006, 11:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
antman27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: NY Long Island
Posts: 588
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I will be upgrading the mounts on my rear speakers soon .since my seating is against the back wall I now use V.1 Cinemas with MB-60 mounts . I want to change the mounts to MB 40's to get more flexablilty to point the speakers down into the listning area & pointing inward the MB60 are not as adjustable as the 60's
I do not have the $$$ to upgrade the speakers to Studio To match my 40's upfront BUT will the Cinema 90's V.4 be a big improvement over my V.1 (70's)
OR should I look into the Cinema ADP against the back wall -One side is open into another room ?
Thanks For your thoughts
antman27 is offline  
post #1179 of 30405 Old 02-28-2006, 04:46 PM
Member
 
tmdlkwd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Lakewood CA
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkhome View Post

I have two Paradigm dealers in my area. One does an "up to one year / 100% trade in value if next purchase is at least twice as much", along with some other excellant return options.

The other doesn't offer squat.....

THANKS. Nice to know

I did go to a local dealer, but I was not to impressed.
Service, not really wanting to help at all.
I was clearly stating I was interested in a ' package " set up
Auditioned several combos.
The salesman just walked away several times when I had some questions.

If we are able to..

Can somewhere recommend some dealer to go in the SoCal area ?
I do not mind the drive
Would like to have the exchange/upgrade option too.
951, 714, or 626, maybe even 323 area code

Thanks
tmdlkwd is offline  
post #1180 of 30405 Old 02-28-2006, 06:05 PM
Newbie
 
jimson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Go to Ahead Audio on Beverly. Should be easy to find. They are a decent Paradigm dealer in the west LA area.
jimson is offline  
post #1181 of 30405 Old 03-01-2006, 06:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
swithey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: D/FW, TX
Posts: 2,642
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by scope1 View Post

Hometheaterbythesea worked for me. Mint certified speakers were actually brand new in unopened boxes. I saw one minor defect in a tweeter a slight dimple and they promised to send another pronto.

Scope1,

I was wondering if you were able to get your dimpled tweeter fixed yet? If they did get it fixed -- did they send out a new tweeter for you to install yourself or the entire speaker? I'm curious about their customer services and replacement speed.

Thanks!
swithey is offline  
post #1182 of 30405 Old 03-01-2006, 09:45 AM
Member
 
canyonblue737's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I currently run 4 Atoms v2, a CC-170, and a PDR10 sub. The performance is excellent for the money but I am looking to upgrade.
canyonblue737 is offline  
post #1183 of 30405 Old 03-01-2006, 01:23 PM
Member
 
poti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: So. California
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Can somewhere recommend some dealer to go in the SoCal area ?
I do not mind the drive
Would like to have the exchange/upgrade option too.
951, 714, or 626, maybe even 323 area code

The guys at Systems Design Group in Redondo Beach are very good, but I know they have no upgrade options.
poti is offline  
post #1184 of 30405 Old 03-03-2006, 07:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
oztech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 7,659
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 93
anyone using the j stands for their 20v3
and like them i have the s stands thinking
about upgrading to j's not sure if it is
worth it.
oztech is online now  
post #1185 of 30405 Old 03-04-2006, 02:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JohnGZ28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,845
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by oztech View Post

anyone using the j stands for their 20v3
and like them i have the s stands thinking
about upgrading to j's not sure if it is
worth it.

I'm using the J stands.

What are you trying to accomplish?

If you're looking for sound improvement then no, it's not worth it. If you like the way the Js look better than the Ss than yes it's worth it.

JohnG
JohnGZ28 is offline  
post #1186 of 30405 Old 03-04-2006, 06:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
oztech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 7,659
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 93
from the pictures they look more stable than the s stands
oztech is online now  
post #1187 of 30405 Old 03-04-2006, 06:58 PM
wje
AVS Special Member
 
wje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 2,326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
With regards to the V4 version of the Titans - what has changed vs. the V3 flavor?
wje is offline  
post #1188 of 30405 Old 03-09-2006, 02:27 PM
Member
 
scope1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It,s close to 2 weeks and I am still waiting for the replacement of the dimpled tweeter. They told me to use the speaker for now and a replacement will be on its way. I expect it to take about 2-3 weeks
scope1 is offline  
post #1189 of 30405 Old 03-09-2006, 02:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
swithey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: D/FW, TX
Posts: 2,642
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by scope1 View Post

It,s close to 2 weeks and I am still waiting for the replacement of the dimpled tweeter. They told me to use the speaker for now and a replacement will be on its way. I expect it to take about 2-3 weeks

Thanks for the update.

BTW -- are they sending just the replacement tweeter and you replace it yoursefl?
swithey is offline  
post #1190 of 30405 Old 03-11-2006, 05:07 PM
Member
 
scope1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Swithy.
Home theater by the Sea sent me a replacement Tweeter. Got it today. They get my vote I would definitely order from them again.
scope1 is offline  
post #1191 of 30405 Old 03-13-2006, 07:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
swithey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: D/FW, TX
Posts: 2,642
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by scope1 View Post

Hey Swithy.
Home theater by the Sea sent me a replacement Tweeter. Got it today. They get my vote I would definitely order from them again.

That is excellent news. Glad you got the part! Thanks for the follow-up.
swithey is offline  
post #1192 of 30405 Old 03-13-2006, 07:58 AM
Member
 
zorro99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Went here in Nashua, NH last Sat. and ordered set of S8.

Be here in 1-2 weeks.

Got 19% discount and have never seen so much high end gear.

If you live in New England, suggest you go visit them.

http://www.ensemble-hometheater.com/

Listened to S8 vs Studio 100 and S8 won hands down.

May get a C5 for Xmas!!
zorro99 is offline  
post #1193 of 30405 Old 03-13-2006, 09:44 AM
Newbie
 
ParaMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Zorro99, Congrats on the S8's. I have a set for my 2 channel system and love 'em. Do you mind if I ask what your running them with? I don't see to many S8 postings around and would like to get other owners impressions.

I have some bass issues I'm trying to resolve. They seem kinda thin on some cd's. I plan on a couple bass traps soon.

Highs get a little brittle for me, but again, it's the room in my case. Not enough soft stuff in the room.

Mids are to die for. I have no complaints or observed any shortfallings at all.
ParaMac is offline  
post #1194 of 30405 Old 03-13-2006, 10:46 AM
Member
 
zorro99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When S8's arrive will try them with Marantz 8500 Receiver I have.

After broken in, if I don't like that, may have to put in switch to share with my Bryston 4BSST that is powering my 19 yr. old Polk SRS-SDA 185 lb. monsters with 8 tweeters, 16 mids, and 2 15in. passive radiators. Also have Paradigm PW-2200
sub.

Right now, the Bryston powers those 26 Polk drivers and the Marantz powers my home theater speakers and I can play HT speakers or Polks or both. With everything playing at once, it's a total wall of sound 18 ft. accross.

The S8 will be used for 2 channel and full HT, where as the Polks are only used for 2 channel and not everyday as I'd like to get a lot more years off them as they have been used very little until the last 12 months.
zorro99 is offline  
post #1195 of 30405 Old 03-13-2006, 10:52 AM
Member
 
zorro99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hope to add C5 center by Xmas if can find a stand to put in front of 56" DLP .

C5 has to be higher than my components on DLP stand, but below the viewing portion of DLP. Have a very small vertical window of space to work with.
zorro99 is offline  
post #1196 of 30405 Old 03-13-2006, 11:56 AM
Senior Member
 
I L K E R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Calgary, AB Canada
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi guy's

I recently ordered the Studio 60 v3's for the front with ROTEL RSX-1067 receiver. When i listened to this combo at the dealer it sounded great. My question is do you think 100 watts rating of the Rotel will be enough to run these speakers? or should i get an separate Power Amp to run the front Studio 60's?

I have an Extra $1200 i can put towards a Power amp but if you guy's think if it is a waste of money then i will stick with the Rotel receiver.

I was thinking 2 chanel Power amp to run the front studio 60's. Than run the Center CC570 and the studio 20 Surrounds off the receiver? Would that be a good idea. Would i notice the difference?

Thanks guy's
I L K E R is offline  
post #1197 of 30405 Old 03-13-2006, 03:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dvdguru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Shelby, NC. previously in Charlotte
Posts: 1,186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Ok, is everyone sure I should switch the sides of my adp470 back surrounds? I did a search at avs and one guy emailed paradigm on this. They wrote back that the back surrounds should be placed as they're marked on the speaker and not switched? So who's right here? My 2nd pair of adp470's is arriving tomorrow and I'll be in 7.1 land tomorrow night

thanks

Elite PRO-70X5FD!

dvdguru

Xbox Live Gamertag: AVS Steve
dvdguru is offline  
post #1198 of 30405 Old 03-13-2006, 04:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JohnGZ28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,845
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by I L K E R View Post

Hi guy's

I recently ordered the Studio 60 v3's for the front with ROTEL RSX-1067 receiver. When i listened to this combo at the dealer it sounded great. My question is do you think 100 watts rating of the Rotel will be enough to run these speakers? or should i get an separate Power Amp to run the front Studio 60's?

I have an Extra $1200 i can put towards a Power amp but if you guy's think if it is a waste of money then i will stick with the Rotel receiver.

I was thinking 2 chanel Power amp to run the front studio 60's. Than run the Center CC570 and the studio 20 Surrounds off the receiver? Would that be a good idea. Would i notice the difference?

Thanks guy's

If you have the funds and the space get a seperate amp.

JohnG
JohnGZ28 is offline  
post #1199 of 30405 Old 03-13-2006, 05:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hifisponge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 7,516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by I L K E R View Post

Hi guy's

I recently ordered the Studio 60 v3's for the front with ROTEL RSX-1067 receiver. When i listened to this combo at the dealer it sounded great. My question is do you think 100 watts rating of the Rotel will be enough to run these speakers? or should i get an separate Power Amp to run the front Studio 60's?

I have an Extra $1200 i can put towards a Power amp but if you guy's think if it is a waste of money then i will stick with the Rotel receiver.

I was thinking 2 chanel Power amp to run the front studio 60's. Than run the Center CC570 and the studio 20 Surrounds off the receiver? Would that be a good idea. Would i notice the difference?

Thanks guy's

There's a good chance that you DON'T need a separate power amp. Unless you're room is over 3000 cubic feet, and/or you sit more than 12 feet away from the front speakers, 100 watts will go plenty loud for most people, and with a sub you should be able to hit the 105dB peaks (Dolby Digital reference level). Also keep in mind that you have to double the wattage to get just a 3dB increase in the overall volume. So in the end, unless you can hear distortion when playing music / movies loudly, you probably don't need an outboard amp. To put you mind at ease, see if your dealer will loan you an amp to try out for yourself.
hifisponge is offline  
post #1200 of 30405 Old 03-13-2006, 05:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hifisponge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 7,516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dvdguru View Post

Ok, is everyone sure I should switch the sides of my adp470 back surrounds? I did a search at avs and one guy emailed paradigm on this. They wrote back that the back surrounds should be placed as they're marked on the speaker and not switched? So who's right here? My 2nd pair of adp470's is arriving tomorrow and I'll be in 7.1 land tomorrow night

thanks

The reason the ADPs have directional markings on them is because the drivers on a dipolar speaker operate out of phase with one another. If you position them the wrong way they will be out of phase with the other speakers in your set up and the interference between the speakers will cause cancellations in the sound. You'll know when you have them facing the right way because the sound will be full and wide. Face them the wrong way and the sound should become comparatively narrow and weak.
hifisponge is offline  
Reply Speakers

Tags
Paradigm , Speaker Systems

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off