Paradigm Owners Thread - Page 826 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 20Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #24751 of 30534 Old 04-24-2012, 11:07 PM
Member
 
Iccy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnAV View Post

Maybe when you make 1000 of them at a time, otherwise no way you ever fabricate a metal stand for $10.

Certainly better then spending $450 for a pair of Paradigm S29 metal stands, where the Sansus SF34 were list $180 a pair. (sure you can get for lot less)

I bet I could make one for cheaper than that, whatever the scrap weight is of 20lbs of steel. I work at a large metal fab/welder facility, I could even have the mounting bracket made from the laser cutter and have it powder coated but that might cost more.
Iccy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24752 of 30534 Old 04-24-2012, 11:09 PM
Member
 
veger69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Venomous View Post


Believe me, it ran through my mind a few times lol. Which is why I have two pairs of studio 10s in the rear on stands I previously had. The only paradigm stands I have are the j29s for the studio 20s.

I have my adp590s on J29s packed with 25 lbs of lead shot each and it was worth it. Audyssey was setting the x-overs at 100hz when they were on sanus wood stands. Now Audyssey sets them at 60hz.
veger69 is offline  
post #24753 of 30534 Old 04-24-2012, 11:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JohnAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 6,497
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iccy View Post

I bet I could make one for cheaper than that, whatever the scrap weight is of 20lbs of steel. I work at a large metal fab/welder facility, I could even have the mounting bracket made from the laser cutter and have it powder coated but that might cost more.

Well considering the setup time in the shop, might be a stretch to say you make it that cheap.

Oppo Beta Group
JohnAV is offline  
post #24754 of 30534 Old 04-24-2012, 11:33 PM
Member
 
Iccy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnAV View Post

Well considering the setup time in the shop, might be a stretch to say you make it that cheap.

Im getting paid to do it why not plus it wouldnt take very long maybe 10 minutes, all the scrap aside from the bracket is already made somewhere in the dumpsters.
Iccy is offline  
post #24755 of 30534 Old 04-25-2012, 03:50 AM
Member
 
Dynarider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: In the doghouse
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by veger69 View Post

I have my adp590s on J29s packed with 25 lbs of lead shot each and it was worth it. Audyssey was setting the x-overs at 100hz when they were on sanus wood stands. Now Audyssey sets them at 60hz.

That's interesting. My ADP 590s are mounted about 5.5 feet high on the back wall with the supplied brackets. I bought a Marantz AV 7005 in March. It's my first experience with any kind of room correction. My first Audyssey sweep set the 590s xover to 100hz. I've since done some minor rearranging, and ran another sweep. The second and third tries came in at 120hz. I'm wondering if I should anchor a piece of wood to the wall studs and mount them to that to give some reinforcement.
Dynarider is offline  
post #24756 of 30534 Old 04-25-2012, 06:58 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
chiliman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Bristow, Va
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cutting holes in the drywall as I type for the new set up. Sig 8's up front with the C3 center, SA-35's surrounds, SA-15-30's in ceiling rears.

16 years of Kef Reference III based set up and I'm ready for a new experience. The only thing I've ever kept longer than my Kefs....is my wife...

Randy
chiliman is offline  
post #24757 of 30534 Old 04-25-2012, 07:18 AM
Member
 
veger69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dynarider View Post


That's interesting. My ADP 590s are mounted about 5.5 feet high on the back wall with the supplied brackets. I bought a Marantz AV 7005 in March. It's my first experience with any kind of room correction. My first Audyssey sweep set the 590s xover to 100hz. I've since done some minor rearranging, and ran another sweep. The second and third tries came in at 120hz. I'm wondering if I should anchor a piece of wood to the wall studs and mount them to that to give some reinforcement.

I'm not sure if it's typical but it has been repeatable. I assumed it was due to stand mounting in general when it was setting them at 100 but after installing them on the weighted stands with spiked feet it has settled in the 60 to 80 hz range
veger69 is offline  
post #24758 of 30534 Old 04-25-2012, 03:09 PM
Member
 
Drakul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Houston
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Alright I think I'm getting close to the end of the road.
I auditioned some speakers today and I think I'm leaning towards the Studio 60s ($1690/pair iirc) or 100s ($2500/pair).

I'm using a Denon 4810CI in a 17x13 room that is dedicated HT for movies and video games so I'm wondering if the Studio 100s are worth the extra expense for my use.

I also sampled the CC-590 ($900) but not the CC-690 which is a monster but might be worth it....

Are the ADP surround good? They didn't have them for sampling. I plan to run 7.1 so I want to make sure my surrounds match nicely.

Also I plan to get a HSU VTF-2 or 3 with these.
Drakul is offline  
post #24759 of 30534 Old 04-25-2012, 03:51 PM
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by chiliman View Post

Cutting holes in the drywall as I type for the new set up. Sig 8's up front with the C3 center, SA-35's surrounds, SA-15-30's in ceiling rears.

16 years of Kef Reference III based set up and I'm ready for a new experience. The only thing I've ever kept longer than my Kefs....is my wife...

Randy

Uh oh....new wife in your future too? Time for a new experience?
cybrsage is offline  
post #24760 of 30534 Old 04-25-2012, 04:04 PM
Member
 
wildzx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have the Paradigm CC-690, which got damaged during transportation. It is the back port, how will this effect the sound and performance. Any remedy to fix it somewhat; if it make a difference. thanks
LL
LL
wildzx is offline  
post #24761 of 30534 Old 04-25-2012, 04:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Venomous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Huntington Beach/San Diego CA
Posts: 1,198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by wildzx View Post

Have the Paradigm CC-690, which got damaged during transportation. It is the back port, how will this effect the sound and performance. Any remedy to fix it somewhat; if it make a difference. thanks

Lemme guess.. UPS and it wasn't crated...
Venomous is offline  
post #24762 of 30534 Old 04-25-2012, 05:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JohnAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 6,497
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drakul View Post

Alright I think I'm getting close to the end of the road.
I auditioned some speakers today and I think I'm leaning towards the Studio 60s ($1690/pair iirc) or 100s ($2500/pair).

I'm using a Denon 4810CI in a 17x13 room that is dedicated HT for movies and video games so I'm wondering if the Studio 100s are worth the extra expense for my use.

I also sampled the CC-590 ($900) but not the CC-690 which is a monster but might be worth it....

Are the ADP surround good? They didn't have them for sampling. I plan to run 7.1 so I want to make sure my surrounds match nicely.

Also I plan to get a HSU VTF-2 or 3 with these.

You have to decide how much bass you want for L+R (60's versus 100's). Since you have smaller room and considering a sub you could go either way. I've listened to both of them, I liked the 100's for their fuller range for stereo playback. Home theater it would not be as big a deal.

The choice between a cc-590 and the cc-690 is also a similar choice, neither one is lacking bass, its producing extremely loud levels that the cc-690 excels, otherwise the cc-590 works well with either studio 60's or studio 100's.

The ADP-590 are useful when you don't have much of a hall behind you, they can be mounted on the wall, but then you can't semi point the woofer sorta towards your seating area like you can on stands. They are fairly amazing on what they do.
If you got a larger room you can use S10 or S20's on stands or wall supports to the side of you or behind you.

Oppo Beta Group
JohnAV is offline  
post #24763 of 30534 Old 04-25-2012, 06:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JohnAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 6,497
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by wildzx View Post

Have the Paradigm CC-690, which got damaged during transportation. It is the back port, how will this effect the sound and performance. Any remedy to fix it somewhat; if it make a difference. thanks

Take it to a dealer and maybe they get the port portion replaced and some minor wood repair resin will make it like new again. Unless something is loose probably no noticeable audio changes.

Oppo Beta Group
JohnAV is offline  
post #24764 of 30534 Old 04-25-2012, 07:21 PM
Member
 
dizzyscure1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Lafayette LA
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone have these yet? Paradigm Cinema 400 & 200's? I already Have a pair of 400's coming. will be powering them with a Pioneer Elite SC-57/55. This is for my bedroom, planning on 3x400's, 2x200's, MiniVee 10. just a little curious how they are for 80% HT & 20% Music. I couldnt do anything bigger than these Cinema's because im hanging them all on the walls.
dizzyscure1 is offline  
post #24765 of 30534 Old 04-25-2012, 07:28 PM
Member
 
wildzx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
can't see the damage at all since it is in the cabinet; so if there will be no noticeable audio changes; nothing is loose inside?... i should just leave it alone than...

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnAV View Post

Take it to a dealer and maybe they get the port portion replaced and some minor wood repair resin will make it like new again. Unless something is loose probably no noticeable audio changes.

wildzx is offline  
post #24766 of 30534 Old 04-25-2012, 09:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tank_PD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 783
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by wildzx View Post

can't see the damage at all since it is in the cabinet; so if there will be no noticeable audio changes; nothing is loose inside?... i should just leave it alone than...

Was the shipment insured to the actual value of the shipment? With UPS only the first $100 is free. Additional cost after that. I would attempt to claim the insurance on the shipment --though normally the shipper does this.

This is why Paradigm ships to dealers, who will inspect for damage for you and not give you a damaged product.
Tank_PD is online now  
post #24767 of 30534 Old 04-26-2012, 08:54 AM
Member
 
Drakul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Houston
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnAV View Post

You have to decide how much bass you want for L+R (60's versus 100's). Since you have smaller room and considering a sub you could go either way. I've listened to both of them, I liked the 100's for their fuller range for stereo playback. Home theater it would not be as big a deal.

The choice between a cc-590 and the cc-690 is also a similar choice, neither one is lacking bass, its producing extremely loud levels that the cc-690 excels, otherwise the cc-590 works well with either studio 60's or studio 100's.

The ADP-590 are useful when you don't have much of a hall behind you, they can be mounted on the wall, but then you can't semi point the woofer sorta towards your seating area like you can on stands. They are fairly amazing on what they do.
If you got a larger room you can use S10 or S20's on stands or wall supports to the side of you or behind you.

Thank you for the detailed reply!
As you can see in my HT pics the wall space behind me is somewhat limited yes, particularly in width and there is no way I can put a stand behind the seats without blocking passage so I'm definitely wall mounting.

Like you pointed out my room is not very big and I don't like to play stuff crazy loud, just loud enough to be immersed. That's why I'm thinking 60s but then when I game I might not want to use the sub and I might appreciate the fuller range of the 100s.
Also do you think my Denon 4810 would have some trouble pushing the 100s if I were to get them?
Drakul is offline  
post #24768 of 30534 Old 04-26-2012, 09:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JohnAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 6,497
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drakul View Post

Thank you for the detailed reply!
As you can see in my HT pics the wall space behind me is somewhat limited yes, particularly in width and there is no way I can put a stand behind the seats without blocking passage so I'm definitely wall mounting.

Like you pointed out my room is not very big and I don't like to play stuff crazy loud, just loud enough to be immersed. That's why I'm thinking 60s but then when I game I might not want to use the sub and I might appreciate the fuller range of the 100s.
Also do you think my Denon 4810 would have some trouble pushing the 100s if I were to get them?

Not at all, I using a AVR-2809 without issues to drive 100's/cc-590/ADP-590 to very respectable volume levels. In my case I have a wall very close behind me so i put ADP-590 on Sanus SF34 stands and angled them at about 45 degrees,toward a point just in front of my center seating area.

Oppo Beta Group
JohnAV is offline  
post #24769 of 30534 Old 04-26-2012, 02:52 PM
Member
 
Drakul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Houston
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnAV View Post

Not at all, I using a AVR-2809 without issues to drive 100's/cc-590/ADP-590 to very respectable volume levels. In my case I have a wall very close behind me so i put ADP-590 on Sanus SF34 stands and angled them at about 45 degrees,toward a point just in front of my center seating area.

Cool thanks.
After more research I think my final set up will be
LR: Paradigm Studio 60
C: Paradigm Studio CC-590
Surrounds: Axiom QS8
Sub: HSU VTF3-MK4
Drakul is offline  
post #24770 of 30534 Old 04-26-2012, 03:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CHASLS2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Tampa FL area
Posts: 1,270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by zuluwalker View Post

I just love them! I use them in my two channel system. Nice speaker.

Looks like i may try the Studio 10's as i have a local dealer i can pick them up at. I would also have to get a matching center. I could keep the two of my Millenia One's as rears and sell the three other Millenia speakers.

Panny 60VT60 Acurus 200x3
Pioneer Elite 05FD &51FD
2 Oppo 83's Pioneer Elite DV 59AVI
Paradigm SIg2 v3's & 490cc
Pioneer Elite SC61 SVS SB12NSD
2 S-VHS VCR's
CHASLS2 is offline  
post #24771 of 30534 Old 04-27-2012, 10:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
tboe77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by djkest View Post

I got my CC-290 back from the speaker shop on Friday. I did extentisive testing and listening and I happy to say that 1) there are no longer any problems in the entire freqency range 2) after setting my Reciever at -3db for the center channel, it sounds awesome on movies. Yes, I had to dial it back that much due to the insane effeciency of the CC-290 v.5. I think my Monitor 9's are right around 90 dB of sensativity and they can't compete with the more modern designs.

Very happy with the CC-290 now, what a great design with tight bass and clear vocals and a much-needed 3-way design in a center channel.

I'm having exactly the same problem you described with my CC-290 v5. I described my issues in a thread I created when I first discovered the issue.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1364571

Some voices, especially male voices have a very "buzzy" quality to them. I ruled out my receiver as the culprit, but have still been trying to determine if I might have a resonance in my room. I swapped out the CC-290 for an Atom Monitor and the distortion is gone. However I was wondering if a resonance might still be the issue. The CC-290 is a much larger speaker than the Atom. Is it possible that the CC-290 could be causing a resonance that the Atom does not?

Anyway, your experience, djkest, does seem to support the possibility that I've got at least one faulty driver in my CC-290.

Anyone else with similar issues?

Chronic masticator.
Gear: Speakers (Paradigm Reference Studio Series): 40 v4 (front L/R), CC-690 v4 (centre), 20 v4 (surround L/R). PSA XS30 (subwoofer).
Denon AVR-X4000, Emotiva XPA-5, Samsung PN64F8500 (64" plasma), DarbeeVision Darblet DVP5000, PS3, Sony BDP-S6200, Apple TV (3rd gen.), Harmony One, Sennheiser RS180
tboe77 is offline  
post #24772 of 30534 Old 04-27-2012, 04:01 PM
Newbie
 
BlackspeedS4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I simply love my new (to me ) Sig2's! They are uttely amazing I never understood the term fast tweeter before! Their detail, clarity and image are breath taking. I will always love my Mini's but I got my Sig2's for under a grand with the J29 stands in 9/10 condtion! Best deal I've made for a system...


BlackspeedS4 is offline  
post #24773 of 30534 Old 04-27-2012, 04:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rnrgagne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 6,623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by tboe77 View Post


Some voices, especially male voices have a very "buzzy" quality to them.

Anyway, your experience, djkest, does seem to support the possibility that I've got at least one faulty driver in my CC-290.

I just dropped off my C3 at the shop, turned out it had a blown tweeter. I knew there was something wrong, but since it still worked, it was hard to pin-point especially with multi-channel material. The buzzing of voices was one of the more noticeable traits.
rnrgagne is offline  
post #24774 of 30534 Old 04-27-2012, 05:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CHASLS2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Tampa FL area
Posts: 1,270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackspeedS4 View Post

I simply love my new (to me ) Sig2's! They are uttely amazing I never understood the term fast tweeter before! Their detail, clarity and image are breath taking. I will always love my Mini's but I got my Sig2's for under a grand with the J29 stands in 9/10 condtion! Best deal I've made for a system...



They sure look nice. No way i could use the stands. If i could lay them on a flat surface i would also consider buying a pair of them.

Panny 60VT60 Acurus 200x3
Pioneer Elite 05FD &51FD
2 Oppo 83's Pioneer Elite DV 59AVI
Paradigm SIg2 v3's & 490cc
Pioneer Elite SC61 SVS SB12NSD
2 S-VHS VCR's
CHASLS2 is offline  
post #24775 of 30534 Old 04-27-2012, 10:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Venomous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Huntington Beach/San Diego CA
Posts: 1,198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Those look like the same tweeters in the V5 Studios. Are those V2 sigs?
Venomous is offline  
post #24776 of 30534 Old 04-28-2012, 04:52 AM
Member
 
zebracatzebra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by CHASLS2 View Post

They sure look nice. No way i could use the stands. If i could lay them on a flat surface i would also consider buying a pair of them.

Why would you not want to use them on stands.... Does it degrade the sound quality? Would you be afraid of them tipping over? Just trying to learn, thanks.
zebracatzebra is offline  
post #24777 of 30534 Old 04-28-2012, 06:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
CHASLS2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Tampa FL area
Posts: 1,270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by zebracatzebra View Post

Why would you not want to use them on stands.... Does it degrade the sound quality? Would you be afraid of them tipping over? Just trying to learn, thanks.

If i were to use them on stands then i just as well go back to big towers. As you can see in pic one, my Klipsch RF7's were just too big for my bedroom as i had to place my Sunfire True Signature sub back along the wall.


In pic two here, i would place the Paradigm Studio 10's, 20's or whatever choice i go with, would go were the Millenia 1's are you see in this pic, i now also have a much bigger SVS PB12 NSD in the corner, so there really is no room for towers or bookshelf speakers with stands unless i move the SVS sub out of the corner.


A bedroom door swings open on the lefthand side. I only have so much space to work with.

Panny 60VT60 Acurus 200x3
Pioneer Elite 05FD &51FD
2 Oppo 83's Pioneer Elite DV 59AVI
Paradigm SIg2 v3's & 490cc
Pioneer Elite SC61 SVS SB12NSD
2 S-VHS VCR's
CHASLS2 is offline  
post #24778 of 30534 Old 04-28-2012, 08:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rnrgagne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 6,623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Venomous View Post

Those look like the same tweeters in the V5 Studios. Are those V2 sigs?

Those are v.1 Sig's, the v.2's changed to Beryllium tweeters with a mesh cover.
The G-Pal tweeter did trickle down to the Studio line. I don't know if it's the exact same tweeter but, same dome material at least.
rnrgagne is offline  
post #24779 of 30534 Old 04-29-2012, 10:06 AM
Newbie
 
BlackspeedS4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rnrgagne View Post

Those are v.1 Sig's, the v.2's changed to Beryllium tweeters with a mesh cover.
The G-Pal tweeter did trickle down to the Studio line. I don't know if it's the exact same tweeter but, same dome material at least.

Yes they are the v.1's and I'm growing more in love with them. I just had a 3mm pair of audioquest Rocket 44 speaker built for them at Listen-up and this is something I should have done a long time ago... more detail, better sound stage, and even more incredible imaging! I love these speakers! The tweeter is now on the v.5 studios but I got my Sig's with stands for less than just the Studio 20's speakers. I think there are still a lot of difference between them though; crossovers, wiring, construction etc... I thought about purchasing the new tweeter and having them put in but they are $430 each and the crossover is different, but I really love the way they sound now.
BlackspeedS4 is offline  
post #24780 of 30534 Old 04-29-2012, 04:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
Stylz25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Edmonton,Alberta
Posts: 699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Was wondering what you guys recommend setting the Sub Woofer Cut Off Frequency on the Paradigm subs?? I have a DSP-3200 and a DSP-3400 with the Sub cut off frequency set at 80hz......should I rotate it to bypass and let the AVR handle it or leave it at 80 on the sub???? Thanks.
Stylz25 is offline  
Reply Speakers

Tags
Paradigm , Speaker Systems

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off