Mirage Speakers - Page 67 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 11Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1981 of 6808 Old 03-26-2009, 01:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
gobrigavitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Prince Albert, Sk, Canada
Posts: 684
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhskyTangoFoxtrt View Post

You don't mention what series of Omnisats you have. The OS3s are rated up to 175 Watts (150 Watts for the Sats), your Receiver is listed by Denon at 90 Watts per channel--you may clip your receiver before damaging your speakers.

Most speakers can accept power even higher than they are rated, but that of course is risky. However, clipping can be really dangerous to your speaker. It's much more dangerous to underpower a speaker and push your amp into clipping than it is to overpower your speaker. The moral of this story is to avoid clipping!!!
gobrigavitch is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1982 of 6808 Old 03-26-2009, 01:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
gobrigavitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Prince Albert, Sk, Canada
Posts: 684
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just bought a set of 4 Omni 150's and 4 Omni 350's from a local dealer. I haven't had a good chance to use them yet. I'll be using the 150's for the front 3 for now. When I build a new screen wall with an acoustically transparent screen I'll use the 350's behind the screen and move the 150's to surround duty.

I'm wondering if anyone knows much about the future of Mirage. It seems they are going out of everything, but the lifestyle products. I'm a little worried about support in 5 years. Am I being paranoid, or is there a chance that parts could become scarce in a few years. I'm thinking of keeping the extra 350 just in case. However, if someone is really needing an extra 350 speaker I might be able to be coaxed into letting it go. The fact that Mirage doesn't have a single mention of it on their website has me a little concerned for the future.
gobrigavitch is offline  
post #1983 of 6808 Old 03-26-2009, 02:13 PM
Senior Member
 
boblopes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: RedSox Nation (before they started selling bricks)
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gobrigavitch View Post

Most speakers can accept power even higher than they are rated, but that of course is risky. However, clipping can be really dangerous to your speaker. It's much more dangerous to underpower a speaker and push your amp into clipping than it is to overpower your speaker. The moral of this story is to avoid clipping!!!

That's what I was trying to say...
boblopes is offline  
post #1984 of 6808 Old 03-26-2009, 02:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
gobrigavitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Prince Albert, Sk, Canada
Posts: 684
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by boblopes View Post

That's what I was trying to say...

Oops. Looks like I should have read a few posts further. Just another example of great minds thinking alike.
gobrigavitch is offline  
post #1985 of 6808 Old 03-26-2009, 02:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WhskyTangoFoxtrt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by hatchet View Post

Those are the ones I'm looking at, the Mirage Macromounts. But not even Mirage themselves can confirm they will work with the OMD-5's. A rep from Mirage is supposed to get back with me on that. Apparently, the thread size on the OMD-5 is not universal, it is a rather large screw thread.

The Macromounts are mentioned in the OMD-5 Owner's Manualas an alternative to the included bracket.

-Hope it helps

A Nice Radio Station with Great Music. For Those That Like That Sort of Thing: RadioParadise.com

WhskyTangoFoxtrt is offline  
post #1986 of 6808 Old 03-26-2009, 02:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WhskyTangoFoxtrt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by boblopes View Post

I thought a receiver with a sinewave output that is clipped was never good for speakers??? I was under the impression more speakers are blown because of underpowered receivers than over powered receivers when played on "11"...

In either case, not recommended.

The OS3's are rated by Mirage as 10-175 Watts for what it's worth.

A Nice Radio Station with Great Music. For Those That Like That Sort of Thing: RadioParadise.com

WhskyTangoFoxtrt is offline  
post #1987 of 6808 Old 03-26-2009, 02:55 PM
Senior Member
 
hatchet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by supratony View Post

You have to make an "adapter" to mount your OMD-5 with any of the wall mount kit. What I did was to take a rectangular piece of wood (say 3/4" thick, 2-3" wide, 4-6" long), drill a hole on one half to bolt the OMD-5 to the wood, and then drill another hole on the other half of the wood to mount the wall mount.

Thanks for the info supratony. I was beginning to realize I'm going to have to get creative in order to wall mount these things. The CSR at http://www.bracketsandstands.com/ was actually very helpful and explained how I could get the wall mounts I recently purchased to work. Basically, I have to drill out the hole in the adaptor provided. Why in the world Mirage made the thread size that big I will never know. Definitely not a standard size.

Wishlist - Emotiva amp, 2nd SVS sub, Panamax PC/SP...well, there is more!
hatchet is offline  
post #1988 of 6808 Old 03-26-2009, 03:00 PM
Senior Member
 
hatchet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhskyTangoFoxtrt View Post

The Macromounts are mentioned in the OMD-5 Owner's Manualas an alternative to the included bracket.

-Hope it helps

Yeah, I read that in the manual and it also lists the Macromount as an optional accessory for the OMD-5 on Mirage's website. So, I called Mirage for confirmation and after getting bounced around from department to department, some of which knew nothing about the Mirage Macromount oddly enough, a rep told me she would get back with me. I even called an online vendor who stated it might not work but wasn't 100% sure.

It seems like a simple answer to a simple question but if the OMD-5 manual and specs on Mirage's website say the Macromount is compatible, then it should be, shouldn't it ?

I wouldn't be as concerned as I am but I just bought one set of wall mounts that won't work. Now, I have to send them back, pay shipping, restocking, etc. I don't want to make the same mistake twice if I can help it!

Wishlist - Emotiva amp, 2nd SVS sub, Panamax PC/SP...well, there is more!
hatchet is offline  
post #1989 of 6808 Old 03-26-2009, 03:02 PM
Senior Member
 
tildawn10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Central Jersey
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hatchet View Post

Thanks for the info supratony. I was beginning to realize I'm going to have to get creative in order to wall mount these things. The CSR at http://www.bracketsandstands.com/ was actually very helpful and explained how I could get the wall mounts I recently purchased to work. Basically, I have to drill out the hole in the adaptor provided. Why in the world Mirage made the thread size that big I will never know. Definitely not a standard size.

I have the OMD5s too and will be curious to see how it works out with your mounts. I haven't permanently placed mine yet as they are still breaking them in. They sound great thus far.
tildawn10 is offline  
post #1990 of 6808 Old 03-26-2009, 03:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
buzzy_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,531
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Thread / bolt sizes aren't all that mysterious. Speakers still seem to use inches, not the metric system, and very common sizes. Try emailing Mirage via their website, you normally get an answer within a couple days, ask for the thread size for the OMD5. They'll give you a diameter and the pitch aka threads per inch.

And/or go to the hardware store and get some bolts and see what fits.

IIRC the original omnisats used 3/8", 16 threads per inch. I'm pretty sure that's what the Macromount is too, so if you're saying the OMD5 is bigger than the Macromount, it must be something bigger than 3/8".

Many smaller speakers use 1/4" 20

PS, Audio Advisor says the MacroMount is 3/8 16
buzzy_ is offline  
post #1991 of 6808 Old 03-26-2009, 04:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WhskyTangoFoxtrt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by hatchet View Post

Yeah, I read that in the manual and it also lists the Macromount as an optional accessory for the OMD-5 on Mirage's website. So, I called Mirage for confirmation and after getting bounced around from department to department, some of which knew nothing about the Mirage Macromount oddly enough, a rep told me she would get back with me. I even called an online vendor who stated it might not work but wasn't 100% sure.

It seems like a simple answer to a simple question but if the OMD-5 manual and specs on Mirage's website say the Macromount is compatible, then it should be, shouldn't it ?

I wouldn't be as concerned as I am but I just bought one set of wall mounts that won't work. Now, I have to send them back, pay shipping, restocking, etc. I don't want to make the same mistake twice if I can help it!

Interesting report--keep us updated.

-Good info as well Buzzy, thanks.

A Nice Radio Station with Great Music. For Those That Like That Sort of Thing: RadioParadise.com

WhskyTangoFoxtrt is offline  
post #1992 of 6808 Old 03-26-2009, 06:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bluvette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Orland Park (South Side Chicago), Illinois
Posts: 961
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzy_ View Post

Thread / bolt sizes aren't all that mysterious. Speakers still seem to use inches, not the metric system, and very common sizes. Try emailing Mirage via their website, you normally get an answer within a couple days, ask for the thread size for the OMD5. They'll give you a diameter and the pitch aka threads per inch.

And/or go to the hardware store and get some bolts and see what fits.

IIRC the original omnisats used 3/8", 16 threads per inch. I'm pretty sure that's what the Macromount is too, so if you're saying the OMD5 is bigger than the Macromount, it must be something bigger than 3/8".

Many smaller speakers use 1/4" 20

PS, Audio Advisor says the MacroMount is 3/8 16

The OMD-5, OMD-C1, and the OMD-R is 3/8-16.
Bluvette is online now  
post #1993 of 6808 Old 03-26-2009, 08:04 PM
Senior Member
 
AirCeej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hatchet View Post

Does anyone have any pictures of Mirage speakers wall mounted with the Mirage Macromount?

I have the OMD-5's and recently bought these wall mounts...

http://www.bracketsandstands.com/Pin...ket_p/am20.htm

The problem I'm having is that the thread size on the back of the OMD-5 is much larger than any of the screws included.

I was looking at these...

http://www.bracketsandstands.com/BT_...ET_p/bt-33.htm

but I was told the screw size on these mounts are smaller than the thread on the OMD-5 and wouldn't work either.

Now I'm being told by Mirage that their Macromount is not compatible with the OMD-5 either.

The problem with the included wall mount bracket is that 1). It doesn't allow you to aim the speaker and more importantly for me 2). My speaker runs are terminated with wall plates. The reason I went with the selections above is that they provide the fit and finish to go over my existing wall plates.

At this point, I just want to wall mount the things and be done with it...I'm really getting frustrated!

If anyone has successfully wall mounted the OMD-5's, PLEASE HELP!!!

Hatchet,

I have 6 OMD-5's mounted to walls via Macromounts and therefore confirm that they work just fine.

Regards,
AirCeej
AirCeej is offline  
post #1994 of 6808 Old 03-26-2009, 08:41 PM
Senior Member
 
jd_cincy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone use Mirage Oasis Omni in direct weather? I've listened to them at a local dealer and consider them some of the better outdoor speakers I've ever heard. Problem is I don't have eaves or anywhere to tuck them in on the back of my house over the patio, so they'd be on the North side of a house in Columbus, Ohio. Lots of sun, wind and rain.
jd_cincy is offline  
post #1995 of 6808 Old 03-27-2009, 06:33 AM
b4z
Advanced Member
 
b4z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: chas.sc
Posts: 770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
gobrigavitch,

That will be a nice inexpensive but capable system you have assembled.
Why not do a 7.1 system instead of a 6.1 and use all of the 150s?
You could also have dual centers, but that is kind of overkill and may cause some impedence probs with your receiver.
What are you using for a sub? The prestige s8 and s10 are being blown out now at vanns.

The Omni line was blown out by vanns and crutchfield about a year and a half ago and that is why you see no mention of it on mirage's website.
I got mine at 50% off.
probably the only one's left are in local brick and mortar stores.
b4z is offline  
post #1996 of 6808 Old 03-27-2009, 06:34 AM
b4z
Advanced Member
 
b4z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: chas.sc
Posts: 770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
AirCeej,

I bet it sounds sweet!
b4z is offline  
post #1997 of 6808 Old 03-27-2009, 06:40 AM
b4z
Advanced Member
 
b4z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: chas.sc
Posts: 770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Re: power handling.
For those of us running a sub and setting the crossover in our amps, our satellites are not even getting the signal for deep bass and the amp/reciever in not having to make the power to produce deep bass. So the power handling of the satellite goes up(theoretically) and the amp can also make more clean power.
That's why you see some receiver manufacuter's rate power at 1kHz instead of at the full spectrum 20Hz-20kHz.
b4z is offline  
post #1998 of 6808 Old 03-27-2009, 06:46 AM
b4z
Advanced Member
 
b4z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: chas.sc
Posts: 770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Helping a friend with his home theater and ordered a Prestige S8 with a audioqest a 6M cable from vanns last night. Only $299!!!!
They still have some left.
It was interesting, was over at their house helping with the setup and brought my Bluray of Casino Royale.
We put it to the scene were the bulldozer crashes through the wall at the construction site and all we got was a bang sound through his Bose 201s(i think that's what they were).
They are going to be in for a big surprise with that sub on the same scene. Just hope the WAF is going to be okay. LOL.
b4z is offline  
post #1999 of 6808 Old 03-27-2009, 07:13 AM
Member
 
yankees8924's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the 0s3 series in my basement hooked up to a denon 1909, and in my living room i have the v2 series hooked up to a denon 1909. At what sound level will it start to clipp or damage my speakers?
yankees8924 is offline  
post #2000 of 6808 Old 03-27-2009, 09:38 AM
Senior Member
 
tildawn10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Central Jersey
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by b4z View Post

Helping a friend with his home theater and ordered a Prestige S8 with a audioqest a 6M cable from vanns last night. Only $299!!!!
They still have some left.
It was interesting, was over at their house helping with the setup and brought my Bluray of Casino Royale.
We put it to the scene were the bulldozer crashes through the wall at the construction site and all we got was a bang sound through his Bose 201s(i think that's what they were).
They are going to be in for a big surprise with that sub on the same scene. Just hope the WAF is going to be okay. LOL.

I got the S8 when I bought 5 OMD5s from Vanns a few weeks ago and it was only 100 with the package so even though I didn't need it I just got it anyway. The sub in my setups has always been my biggest WAF limitation. The first time that it rattled a picture off the wall I was thrilled but she didn't feel the same way!
tildawn10 is offline  
post #2001 of 6808 Old 03-27-2009, 11:19 AM
b4z
Advanced Member
 
b4z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: chas.sc
Posts: 770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
yankees8924,

I would guess with those speakers that they will audibly protest before your receiver clips.

Again it depends on the recording, how loud it is and also the amount of high and low frequency content.
I have not blown a speaker since 1991.
In that case I blew a tweeter and a crossover with a 30 watt amp cranked with lots of bass energy.
The amp was audibly clipping and the woofer voice coil was hitting the back plate.
that was on the Notting Hillbillies cd.

In my younger days I blew Advent tweeters with a crap Pioneer reciever running poorly recorded tapes that had lots of
hiss and distortion(too much for the tweeter).

During that same time i blew the tweeter fuses with regularity on my A/D/S 300i car stereo speakers playing
2 specific albums with tons of treble energy. Men at Work "Business as Usual" and Reo Speedwagon "High Infidelity".
I could pop the tweeter fuses on those a/d/s with that Men At Work album so fast it was ridiculous.

So you have to factor in your source material too-not just how many watts your are pumping out.
b4z is offline  
post #2002 of 6808 Old 03-27-2009, 11:23 AM
b4z
Advanced Member
 
b4z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: chas.sc
Posts: 770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
tildawn01,

yeah, he wanted the smaller s8 for that very reason. The s8 is actually 2" smaller in all 3 dimensions than the s10 and I think that will also help with placement. They will put it beside the sofa so that is not visible when you walk into the room. Also the reason we had to get the 6 Meter sub cable.
according to vanns the s8 is rated to 26Hz and the s10 to 23Hz so it is not that big of a loss, although I am sure spls are less than the S10.
b4z is offline  
post #2003 of 6808 Old 03-27-2009, 11:29 AM
Senior Member
 
tildawn10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Central Jersey
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by b4z View Post

tildawn01,

yeah, he wanted the smaller s8 for that very reason. The s8 is actually 2" smaller in all 3 dimensions than the s10 and I think that will also help with placement. They will put it beside the sofa so that is not visible when you walk into the room. Also the reason we had to get the 6 Meter sub cable.
according to vanns the s8 is rated to 26Hz and the s10 to 23Hz so it is not that big of a loss, although I am sure spls are less than the S10.

I was surprised how small the S8 actually was compared to my Velo DPS 10. The S8 actually goes around 6Hz lower which surprised me so I have it paired with my nanos. Its an amazing value for the price IMO. Using the DPS with the OMD5s for now but will probably ugrade down the road.
tildawn10 is offline  
post #2004 of 6808 Old 03-27-2009, 11:51 AM
Newbie
 
firo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tildawn10 View Post

I got the S8 when I bought 5 OMD5s from Vanns a few weeks ago and it was only 100 with the package so even though I didn't need it I just got it anyway. The sub in my setups has always been my biggest WAF limitation. The first time that it rattled a picture off the wall I was thrilled but she didn't feel the same way!


EDIT: B4z seems to have answered my question while I was typing this post lol.

I just ordered an S8 a few days ago. It's supposed to arrive on Monday. My old sub from a Klipsch computer speaker package was an 8" 160 watt box. And I always enjoyed that sub in my closet of a grad school apartment room. I figure this will be the same deal at 8" and 200 watts. Fedex destroyed the first S10 I ordered, so I didn't get a chance to fire it up. Is there much difference between the S8 and S10?

I ordered the last two OMD 15's yesterday (arriving April 1). I am going to try them out in stereo mode for now with the S8 and see how I like them. I have been running a couple of OS3 sats in stereo for a few weeks waiting for the OMD towers to come on sale, so I might throw one of those as a temporary center if I try HT/TV viewing.
firo is offline  
post #2005 of 6808 Old 03-27-2009, 12:07 PM
Member
 
rmon11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
BLACK Omnisat v2 Center Channel: Anyone know where to get one? I've seen some on eBay, but that is about it. Thanks!
rmon11 is offline  
post #2006 of 6808 Old 03-27-2009, 12:37 PM
Member
 
seaners's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmon11 View Post

BLACK Omnisat v2 Center Channel: Anyone know where to get one? I've seen some on eBay, but that is about it. Thanks!

EBay may be your best bet. I managed to snag one from BB right before Thanskgiving weekend on discount. Since then, I haven't seen any of them pop up at any of the regular Mirage online places. You may want to keep checking Audiogon to see if one pops there. Good luck in your search!
seaners is offline  
post #2007 of 6808 Old 03-27-2009, 05:53 PM
b4z
Advanced Member
 
b4z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: chas.sc
Posts: 770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
OMD5s are rarer than hen's teeth.
if any of you guys want to sell some let me know.
i want to get at least 2 to help my friend out.
His old boses aren't getting the job done.
b4z is offline  
post #2008 of 6808 Old 03-27-2009, 05:57 PM
b4z
Advanced Member
 
b4z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: chas.sc
Posts: 770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
firo,

I think you'll like Prestige S8 a lot more. One of my childhood friends and my inlaws both have 8" Klipsch subs and they are kind of one note sounding and boomy and not real articulate.
The S8 has 800 watts on peaks.
b4z is offline  
post #2009 of 6808 Old 03-27-2009, 08:13 PM
Senior Member
 
hatchet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by AirCeej View Post

Hatchet,

I have 6 OMD-5's mounted to walls via Macromounts and therefore confirm that they work just fine.

Regards,
AirCeej

Beautiful man, Beautiful!!!

Mirage did call back and stated they would work but nothing like physical proof. Thanks!

Thanks to buzzy as well!

And to top it all off, the wife plans to purchase the sub for my birthday. I'm thinking about Hsu. Any other recommendations for the OMD5's? What did you pair them with AirCeej??

Finally, the living room HT looks like it may finally come together .

Wishlist - Emotiva amp, 2nd SVS sub, Panamax PC/SP...well, there is more!
hatchet is offline  
post #2010 of 6808 Old 03-27-2009, 09:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
gobrigavitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Prince Albert, Sk, Canada
Posts: 684
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by b4z View Post

gobrigavitch,

That will be a nice inexpensive but capable system you have assembled.
Why not do a 7.1 system instead of a 6.1 and use all of the 150s?
You could also have dual centers, but that is kind of overkill and may cause some impedence probs with your receiver.
What are you using for a sub? The prestige s8 and s10 are being blown out now at vanns.

The Omni line was blown out by vanns and crutchfield about a year and a half ago and that is why you see no mention of it on mirage's website.
I got mine at 50% off.
probably the only one's left are in local brick and mortar stores.

Currently I have a shelf under my screen so there is no room there for the 350's. So right now I have 3 of the 150's set up across the front and the old Omnisats for the 4 surrounds. Within a year I'll be building a false wall/ acoustically transparent screen. Then I'll put 3 of the 350's back there and use the 4 150's as surrounds. I'll still have 1 leftover 350 after that

I realize the Omni's have been sold out for awhile. That shouldn't stop Mirage from at least having some infor on their website. They have info on numerous discontinued speakers including the previous Omni series. Yet there isn't even mention that these speakers were ever made anywhere on their site. It strikes me as quite peculiar. It's like they are trying to hide the fact that they ever made them, which I really don't understand. Oh well. They are really nice speakers at a really nice price.
gobrigavitch is offline  
Reply Speakers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off