Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread

post #1 of 135 Old 02-21-2006, 02:48 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is long over due. I was mainly holding back to get as much time with each speaker as possible, because my opinion did change over time with more exposure to each speaker. I also just received the Ascend 170SE, and wanted to get them into the mix. There is probably nothing new here, but since I promised, here it is:

Disclaimer:
This review is by me for me. I am not a professional reviewer. I don’t come into this with a golden ear and the most experience listening to speakers. I may have made some mistakes along the way, and my gear is far from perfect. But, I did my best to get the most out of each speaker in my room with the gear that I have, to find the speaker that I liked the best and the one I felt gave me the best value. I have found that I tend to like a more forward speaker, and place a place a premium on being able to maintain a very full sound at high volume levels. My tastes and priorities may differ from yours, which will likely affect the speakers we each choose. If you want to disagree with me, please get both of the speakers in question, listen to them both, and then let’s discuss what we hear. If you want to call be bias or whatever, piss off and get your own thread.

Intro:
I was trying to answer two basic questions:
1.) What $500 - $800 speaker do I like best?
2.) How much improvement is there in an $800 speaker over a $200 speaker, and is it worth it to me? Will I notice the difference?