Dynaudio Owner's Thread - Page 784 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 147Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #23491 of 23505 Unread Yesterday, 05:02 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
hey there,

(newbie) i was looking for some cable advice for Focus 160. am i at the right place?
Riasat Raian is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #23492 of 23505 Unread Yesterday, 05:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bluvette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Orland Park (South Side Chicago), Illinois
Posts: 958
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by OctaDyn_Dude View Post
Hey John you do know the Ho's cabinets are made in China.
Yes, more worried about the guts then the cabinets.
Bluvette is online now  
post #23493 of 23505 Unread Yesterday, 05:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
OctaDyn_Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Streamwood
Posts: 786
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluvette View Post
Yes, more worried about the guts then the cabinets.
I'm right there with you
OctaDyn_Dude is online now  
post #23494 of 23505 Unread Yesterday, 07:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
GTaudiophile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 37
It's funny reading the past few pages. Can anyone remember the Focus XDs? Say what? Probably the exact opposite effect they were hoping for when they made these simultaneous announcements...

Anyone want to bet that the Class D amps in the new XD models...come from China? (Any yet add 50% to the cost!)

The future of Dynaudio indeed.
Bluvette likes this.

Current HiFi: Dynaudio Focus 260 | Meridian Direct DAC | NAIM XS 2 (2013)
Past HiFi: Dynaudio Excite X16 | Dynaudio Focus 160 | Harman Kardon HK3490
Portable IEMs by Audio-Technica

GTaudiophile is online now  
post #23495 of 23505 Unread Yesterday, 08:53 PM
Senior Member
 
amatuerholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by GTaudiophile View Post
It's funny reading the past few pages. Can anyone remember the Focus XDs? Say what? Probably the exact opposite effect they were hoping for when they made these simultaneous announcements...

Anyone want to bet that the Class D amps in the new XD models...come from China? (Any yet add 50% to the cost!)

The future of Dynaudio indeed.
I really hope that they didn't go this route... I guess I'm one of the few who remains optimistic about the hopefully great speaker that the XDs could be.

amatuerholic is offline  
post #23496 of 23505 Unread Today, 04:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
OctaDyn_Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Streamwood
Posts: 786
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by GTaudiophile View Post
It's funny reading the past few pages. Can anyone remember the Focus XDs? Say what? Probably the exact opposite effect they were hoping for when they made these simultaneous announcements...

Anyone want to bet that the Class D amps in the new XD models...come from China? (Any yet add 50% to the cost!)

The future of Dynaudio indeed.
Well per Mick (Dynlunatic) they don't use class 'D' amps. Here is his response
Quote:
What does Dynaudio know about amps, dsp, etc. quite possibly the last couple decades or so with our pro products has something to do with it? We have had a tremendous amount of engineering dedicated to DSP and amplified speakers over the last 20 plus years. The Focus XD's are utilizing not a class "D" amplifier which is analog but rather the digital version of the PWM amplifiers using the Pure Path chip set, the technology amplifies the output of the digital signal and uses DSP in the signal path to control any phasing issues, this is the reason why there is no D to A conversion. The amp is presenting a virtual analog sinewave to the drivers. The Focus XD uses the same amp technology that the Xeo does just more of it with 150 watts per driver, the same wireless capability using the Xeo Hub however the direct digital input on the amp gives you 24/192 capability, the analog input on the amp is actually converted to digital inside the amplifier.
OctaDyn_Dude is online now  
post #23497 of 23505 Unread Today, 04:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MUDCAT45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by OctaDyn_Dude View Post
Well per Mick (Dynlunatic) they don't use class 'D' amps. Here is his response
PWM looks to be Class "D".

http://www.irf.com/technical-info/appnotes/an-1071.pdf
MUDCAT45 is online now  
post #23498 of 23505 Unread Today, 05:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
OctaDyn_Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Streamwood
Posts: 786
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by MUDCAT45 View Post
Hmmm sure does.
OctaDyn_Dude is online now  
post #23499 of 23505 Unread Today, 05:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
Bluvette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Orland Park (South Side Chicago), Illinois
Posts: 958
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Like I said cheap quality, high profits. Done!
Bluvette is online now  
post #23500 of 23505 Unread Today, 06:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
OctaDyn_Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Streamwood
Posts: 786
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluvette View Post
Like I said cheap quality, high profits. Done!
Did they move production to China yet or is it just having a Chinese as a majority owner? I know my gut doesn't like this but I'm all in favor of giving it a chance. I mean Apple products are made in China and nobody complains about shoddy quality. Or any products out of the Foxconn factory.
OctaDyn_Dude is online now  
post #23501 of 23505 Unread Today, 06:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
Bluvette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Orland Park (South Side Chicago), Illinois
Posts: 958
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by OctaDyn_Dude View Post
Did they move production to China yet or is it just having a Chinese as a majority owner? I know my gut doesn't like this but I'm all in favor of giving it a chance. I mean Apple products are made in China and nobody complains about shoddy quality. Or any products out of the Foxconn factory.
Agree, apple holds China to a standard and monitor them closely. But we are also comparing a $500 phone that people trade in after a year. The other problems go much deeper then that, China is poisoning us. They hate the US look what they have done with children's toys with lead and dog food killing our animals. This country and others are going to find out the hard way when no one will know how to manufacture then the **** will really hit the fan. Sorry for the rant and going off topic! Just seen it way to many times.
MUDCAT45 likes this.
Bluvette is online now  
post #23502 of 23505 Unread Today, 06:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
OctaDyn_Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Streamwood
Posts: 786
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluvette View Post
Agree, apple holds China to a standard and monitor them closely. But we are also comparing a $500 phone that people trade in after a year. .
I know some folks that trade in their speakers that often too LMAO. You know who I mean.
Bluvette and MUDCAT45 like this.
OctaDyn_Dude is online now  
post #23503 of 23505 Unread Today, 07:21 AM
Member
 
sqoverall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by OctaDyn_Dude View Post
Well per Mick (Dynlunatic) they don't use class 'D' amps. Here is his response
This just proves that Mick is a robot and knows nothing about amplifier topology. An amplifier class refers to the power supply, not the preamp section. He stated NOTHING about the power supply and simply repeated his marketing material of the preamp section.

Give you less, charge you more, and nail the marketing. It's only the beginning.
Bluvette likes this.

Last edited by sqoverall; Today at 07:32 AM.
sqoverall is online now  
post #23504 of 23505 Unread Today, 07:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
Bluvette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Orland Park (South Side Chicago), Illinois
Posts: 958
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by sqoverall View Post
Give you less, charge you more, and nail the marketing. It's only the beginning.
Starting to sound like Bose!
Bluvette is online now  
post #23505 of 23505 Unread Today, 07:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rob80b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 1,546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Riasat Raian View Post
hey there,

(newbie) i was looking for some cable advice for Focus 160. am i at the right place?
Hi Riasat

First off ….welcome to the forum and if you've got a pair of Dyns your in the right place.

I wouldn’t get too hung up about which cable, reasonably priced and good quality would be Canare 4S11 or 4S12 Star Quad Speaker Cable which you can buy in bulk or pre-finished, check ebay.
The type of connector is usually the hardest to decide on,….spades, banana plugs or just bare wrap, usually comes down to personal preference, I use all three.
Rule of thumb though, more than with high impedance interconnects is keeping the length for speaker cables, which is a low impedance connection, as short as possible.

Robert
Toronto, Ontario

Last edited by rob80b; Today at 08:03 AM.
rob80b is online now  
Reply Speakers

Tags
Dynaudio , Dynaudio Focus Powered Monitor Speakers , Speaker Systems

User Tag List



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off