how to split audio signal - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 02-25-2007, 08:49 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
audiophobic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
this probably seems like a pretty dumb question (and maybe it is), but here goes:
I've got a panasonic shelf system with an aux input (rca) and a pair of speedlink heaphones. I want both to be connected to my computer at the same time so i can listen to music in my room or play games late at night without bothering neighbors. I've already tried using a standard stereo-mini male to 2 stereo-mini female that i got from radio shack, but the volume goes through substantial degradation.

any thoughts as to how i can do this? cuz its a real pain in the arse to get behind my comp every time i want to switch
audiophobic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 02-25-2007, 08:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Luis Gabriel Gerena's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Orem, Utah
Posts: 2,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
RS also sells switch boxes for computer audio. I will check the sku # tomorrow. If you give me your zipcode I can check the closest store to carry one.

Regards

Mario Lemieux is GOD!
Go Pens!!!
Aguante Boca!!!
If dolphins are so smart...why do they live in igloos?
Luis Gabriel Gerena is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 02-25-2007, 09:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
billybob_jcv's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Just past the Oediv-Oidua nebula
Posts: 2,537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
You could use 1 M-F extension cable, plus 2 M-M cables (or equivalent combos), so that you can leave the plug in the computer and have a connection out where you can get to it.

If you think this post was dumb, you really should read my blog=> http://bumpedhishead.blogspot.com/
billybob_jcv is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 02-25-2007, 09:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
maxcooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 1,646
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Does the shelf system have a headphone jack? Use an extension cord (if needed) to connect the headphones to the shelf system. And connect the computer only to the shelf system.

I like billybob_jcv's suggestion, too.

-Max
maxcooper is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 02-25-2007, 09:46 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
audiophobic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
billybob and maxcooper: the headphones are 5.1 surround sound so theyve got 3 audio connectors plus 1 mic connector. So i cant have whatever splitter thing i use be too far from the back of my computer, else i wont be able to plug in the mic and rear/woofer channels. also the speakers are on the other side of the room from my comp (i had to use 2 15ft stereo mini extension cables to get over there.

i was able to mess around in the realtek sound manager to get the 6th jack on the mobo (normally unused) to function as a second front speaker out. so all problems solved

thanks tho
audiophobic is offline  
Reply Speakers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off