Aerial Acoustics Owners Thread - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 9Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 1525 Old 02-06-2008, 01:42 PM
Newbie
 
zakhaku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know what the switches in the back of the CC3 center channel do? I have the CC3 setup beneath my TV, but just cannot figure out what to do with those switches.
zakhaku is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 1525 Old 02-06-2008, 04:25 PM
Senior Member
 
drhack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Chicago Subs
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The two switches are environment & Program (as noted in the manual).

Environment at + boosts the mid & treble for incabinet installs and at - reduces the mid & treble when installed away from a wall (eg stand mounted). 0 yields a flat resp.

Program has 0, - and -- the last two of which results in a midrange cut.

President Muffley: Gentlemen, you can't fight in here! This is the War Room!!
drhack is offline  
post #33 of 1525 Old 02-06-2008, 04:28 PM
Newbie
 
zakhaku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by drhack View Post

The two switches are environment & Program (as noted in the manual).

Environment at + boosts the mid & treble for incabinet installs and at - reduces the mid & treble when installed away from a wall (eg stand mounted). 0 yields a flat resp.

Program has 0, - and -- the last two of which results in a midrange cut.

Thanks. So in my install (CC3 below TV in entertainment center, but closed only from top and back, sides open), I presume I should set both of them both at "0".
zakhaku is offline  
post #34 of 1525 Old 02-06-2008, 05:43 PM
Senior Member
 
drhack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Chicago Subs
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zakhaku View Post

Thanks. So in my install (CC3 below TV in entertainment center, but closed only from top and back, sides open), I presume I should set both of them both at "0".

This will count as a incabinet install and have some boundary reinforcement - try the + setting.

President Muffley: Gentlemen, you can't fight in here! This is the War Room!!
drhack is offline  
post #35 of 1525 Old 02-09-2008, 05:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
Hopstretch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: West of Boston
Posts: 756
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all. Anyone here have any thoughts on the original Model 8s (not 8Bs) as fronts for a dedicated HT system? Pairing with a CC3. Seems the knock on them was that the bass could be a bit overpowering, but I've got a big, dynamic room and don't mind some extra grunt. Originally wanted to go the 10T route, but could save a bundle on these.

Much obliged.
Hopstretch is offline  
post #36 of 1525 Old 02-09-2008, 07:58 PM
Senior Member
 
DOMAIN64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Aerial 9s here powered by Theta Enterprises. These speakers eat alot of power. I believe you need at least 300w to power them. These speakers are very accurate and fast but......

With that said I am in market for a rosewood sw12 for a little more punch. It would be nice to adjust the sub to my rooms poor acoustics.

Paul
DOMAIN64 is offline  
post #37 of 1525 Old 02-09-2008, 11:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JimmyDaves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Weatherford, Texas
Posts: 1,091
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just reading these posts brings back very fond memories of when I owned Aerial speakers 7 years ago. I had the LR5's and CC5 powered by a Theta Dreadnaught and so far, this has been the best sound I've had at my home. I've owned Revel, B&W and Atlantic Technology and only sold my Aerials because I relocated.

I'm now putting together a home theater system and my choices narrowed down between the Paradigm Studio Reference/or Signatures and the Def Tech Mythos ST's. I don't know why I didn't consider Aerial again especially after the wonderful time I had with them years ago.

The Aerial 9's weren't even made when I purchased the LR5's. Just out of curiosity, how do the Aerial 9's stack up against the LR5's and how do those speakers stack up against the Paradigm S6's or S8's.

My use would be primarily home theater and I could be swayed from the Mythos ST's and Paradigm Signatures. Thanks!
JimmyDaves is offline  
post #38 of 1525 Old 02-10-2008, 07:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
bambam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 728
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimmyDaves View Post


I'm now putting together a home theater system and my choices narrowed down between the Paradigm Studio Reference/or Signatures and the Def Tech Mythos ST's. I don't know why I didn't consider Aerial again especially after the wonderful time I had with them years ago.

I don't know why either. Since you've had the LR5/CC5 combo in the past - and loved it - why not go with the same?
bambam is online now  
post #39 of 1525 Old 02-10-2008, 08:31 AM
Senior Member
 
DOMAIN64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The 9s have 2 more 7" drivers that spread the bass response so that the overall effect is lower lows and clearer mid bass. Much larger stage as a result.

If you liked your prior Aerials sound, then you will love these 9s. Go take a listen.
DOMAIN64 is offline  
post #40 of 1525 Old 02-10-2008, 09:51 AM
Member
 
kcsupratt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello All,

Just wanted to chime in as a fellow Aerial Acoustic member.
Current Setup is

Fronts Speaker - 7b
Center Speaker - CC3b
Rears Speaker - NHT Super Ones
Sub - Epik Subwoofer Caliber

Pre/Pro - Integra DTC 9.8
Amp - Theta Digital Intrepid

Regarding the CC3b switch. My current Center is standing in front on my TV on top of a stand. What should the switch be set to on my setup?

Thanks All.
Kenny
kcsupratt is offline  
post #41 of 1525 Old 02-11-2008, 08:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mudslide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Anybody here have a CC3B hanging around looking for a home? Maybe you've been hankerin' for a CC5 upgrade?!

I'm in need of a CC3B. Please PM me if you know of one that's available for purchase. (I check ebay, Audiogon, and Videogon regularly. Not much there right now.)

Thanks.

Mud

MARGARITAS,
they're not just for breakfast anymore.
Mudslide is offline  
post #42 of 1525 Old 02-12-2008, 08:40 AM
Senior Member
 
drhack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Chicago Subs
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kcsupratt View Post

Hello All,

Just wanted to chime in as a fellow Aerial Acoustic member.
Current Setup is

Fronts Speaker - 7b
Center Speaker - CC3b
Rears Speaker - NHT Super Ones
Sub - Epik Subwooder Caliber

Pre/Pro - Integra DTC 9.8
Amp - Theta Digital Intrepid

Regarding the CC3b switch. My current Center is standing in front on my TV on top of a stand. What should the switch be set to on my setup?

Thanks All.
Kenny

Nice setup! Do you have the CC3b on a dedicated stand or is it in front of the tv on the TV stand?

Leave the program at 0 and the setting for environment experiment with 0 or -.

President Muffley: Gentlemen, you can't fight in here! This is the War Room!!
drhack is offline  
post #43 of 1525 Old 02-12-2008, 08:59 AM
Member
 
kcsupratt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is a very bad ugly picture of my setup. Excuse the mess

Have a wild kid at home

As you can see the CC3b is on a stand and in front of my Plasma
LL
kcsupratt is offline  
post #44 of 1525 Old 02-12-2008, 10:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 1,547
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Mudslide:

PM'ed you
Bing is offline  
post #45 of 1525 Old 02-12-2008, 03:23 PM
Senior Member
 
drhack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Chicago Subs
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kcsupratt View Post

Here is a very bad ugly picture of my setup. Excuse the mess

Have a wild kid at home

As you can see the CC3b is on a stand and in front of my Plasma

Make sure you have 1.5-2ft of space from the backwall and leave the environment switch at 0.

President Muffley: Gentlemen, you can't fight in here! This is the War Room!!
drhack is offline  
post #46 of 1525 Old 02-12-2008, 04:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
Hopstretch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: West of Boston
Posts: 756
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Picked up my Model 8s and CC3 today from their former devoted owner, who is downsizing to Spendor mini-monitors. Damn they're heavy. At least 150lbs a piece in the original boxes. My wife is going to **** a brick. And I don't care.
Hopstretch is offline  
post #47 of 1525 Old 02-12-2008, 04:52 PM
Member
 
kcsupratt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by drhack View Post

Make sure you have 1.5-2ft of space from the backwall and leave the environment switch at 0.

Should both switches be a 0?

Thanks
kcsupratt is offline  
post #48 of 1525 Old 02-12-2008, 06:54 PM
Senior Member
 
drhack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Chicago Subs
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kcsupratt View Post

Should both switches be a 0?

Thanks

Yes - keep both the switches at zero.

President Muffley: Gentlemen, you can't fight in here! This is the War Room!!
drhack is offline  
post #49 of 1525 Old 02-12-2008, 10:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mudslide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 46
I'd just like to say that I've been drooling over Aerial Acoustic speakers ever since I first auditioned them. I'm proud to also say that now I'm a full-fledged member of this thread...rather than a wannabe! I just got a nice used set of 7Bs and I'm thrilled. I hope that UPS takes care of them on their way here to their new home.

Any opinions on whether my 120wpc Yamaha will drive them until better amps come along? (I know it's far from ideal.)

MARGARITAS,
they're not just for breakfast anymore.
Mudslide is offline  
post #50 of 1525 Old 02-15-2008, 07:19 PM
Senior Member
 
DOMAIN64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Congrats mudslide,

you will find the need for more power.........but enjoy your purchase
DOMAIN64 is offline  
post #51 of 1525 Old 02-27-2008, 07:49 AM
Newbie
 
zakhaku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by drhack View Post

The two switches are environment & Program (as noted in the manual).

Environment at + boosts the mid & treble for incabinet installs and at - reduces the mid & treble when installed away from a wall (eg stand mounted). 0 yields a flat resp.

Program has 0, - and -- the last two of which results in a midrange cut.

So I finally got around to playing with the settings. I found the "0" setting to be the most to my liking. The Program - and -- made the speaker sound unbelievably bright. There was an incredible amount of vocal sibilance, I just could not stand it.
zakhaku is offline  
post #52 of 1525 Old 02-27-2008, 08:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mudslide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Ugh...for those of you not reading Nuance's thread about the search for the perfect speaker, take note that I officially STILL am an Aerial owner wannabe. UPS trashed the packing and shipping of my 7Bs!

Here is one of the many clanks. What a horrible sight on such a lovely piece of equipment. Both speakers were badly damaged.

MARGARITAS,
they're not just for breakfast anymore.
Mudslide is offline  
post #53 of 1525 Old 02-27-2008, 12:07 PM
Member
 
zombyw00f's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That is really a depressing sight to behold. I'm assuming it wasn't packed in the factory boxes? Bubble wrap has no place in speaker packaging, IMO. Were they at least double boxed? If it was the shipper's fault, you may have a hard time getting paid on an insurance claim. I feel your pain as if it were my own speakers. So terribly sorry!!!!
zombyw00f is offline  
post #54 of 1525 Old 02-27-2008, 02:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mudslide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by zombyw00f View Post

That is really a depressing sight to behold. I'm assuming it wasn't packed in the factory boxes? Bubble wrap has no place in speaker packaging, IMO. Were they at least double boxed? If it was the shipper's fault, you may have a hard time getting paid on an insurance claim. I feel your pain as if it were my own speakers. So terribly sorry!!!!

It was poorly wrapped by a UPS contract store. The seller hopefully has taken care of all the issues (as he must as the shipper/insurer). He sold another lovely birdseye maple set using the same shipper that was also trashed. We'll see how much UPS squirms in trying to wiggle out of this.

But pain....yeah h h h

MARGARITAS,
they're not just for breakfast anymore.
Mudslide is offline  
post #55 of 1525 Old 02-27-2008, 04:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 1,547
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
damn.......I'm soooo sorry to hear that Mud.
Bing is offline  
post #56 of 1525 Old 03-10-2008, 02:55 PM
Member
 
Zensei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are there any Aerial owners in the Vancouver, BC area? Or would anyone know any dealers/stores that carry Aerials around my location?
Zensei is offline  
post #57 of 1525 Old 03-11-2008, 06:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
adidino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Check their website..

http://www.aerialacoustics.com/html/prods.html


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Owner, AudioXtream.
Authorized Dealer for Kef, Triad, Bryston, Auralic, Audeze, Grado, Audioquest, Marantz
adidino is offline  
post #58 of 1525 Old 03-12-2008, 01:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
robertrobert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 934
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I'm using a pair of original Aerial 7's with the CC3 center channel. I got great deals on them when Aerial was first introducing their speakers. I run the 7's via a McCormack DNA-2 Deluxe (huge amp...almost 800w RMS into 2 ohms) with JPS speaker cables. I couldn't recommend these with Aerial speakers strong enough. The Aerials really need well over 200w into 8 ohms with power able to double into 4 ohms to really open up the speakers even though I believe the 9's may be a little more sensitive to drive.

I don't really see any input on surrounds. I'm really curious what others are using to match their Aerial fronts if using a different brand for surrounds. I'm currently using an older pair of book shelf KEF's with pretty good results for a lower end speaker compared to the Aerials. I was thinking about upgrading lately. Any recommendations for biggest bang for the buck direct radiating speakers to be used as surround to match Aerial sound in the fronts??? I can't do dipole/bipole in my room.
robertrobert is offline  
post #59 of 1525 Old 03-12-2008, 02:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
robertrobert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 934
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mudslide View Post

I'd just like to say that I've been drooling over Aerial Acoustic speakers ever since I first auditioned them. I'm proud to also say that now I'm a full-fledged member of this thread...rather than a wannabe! I just got a nice used set of 7Bs and I'm thrilled. I hope that UPS takes care of them on their way here to their new home.

Any opinions on whether my 120wpc Yamaha will drive them until better amps come along? (I know it's far from ideal.)


No way...........Aerials want 200w plus power into 8 ohms that's able to double down into 4 ohms to really open up the speaker. They tend to be power hungry. I would strongly not recommend any receiver drive Aerials.
robertrobert is offline  
post #60 of 1525 Old 03-12-2008, 06:53 PM
Member
 
Zensei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not an Aerial owner but I have a few questions about them for you guys as I've heard so many good things about them. If this is strictly for owners mods please move my post, and my apologies. I want to audition some Aerial's but unfortunately the nearest dealer is roughly 2 hours drive away so thought I'd ask here first before committing to a road trip.

1. How does the "Aerial sound" compare to the "ProAc sound"? ProAc's are known for their natural, open, and balanced sound, and so far in my speaker quest are my favorites.

2. How does the model 7B and 6 sounds compare? The model 6 is more in my planned budget but if the 7B are that much more musical to make the price difference worth it then my budget could change.

3. Would anyone know what the relevant speakers in the ProAc line up would be if the ProAc and Aerial line ups were directly compared as far as overall musical quality? (Example: ProAc Studio 140 would be a comparable and fair equivalent to the Aerial Model 6 for comparison... this is of course hypothetical because I have no idea what Aerials sound like yet).

Thanks and again, I'll move the post if it shouldn't belong in this thread.

~ Zen ~
Zensei is offline  
Reply Speakers

Tags
Energy Cc 5 Center Channel Speaker Black

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off