HDCD Playback Question - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-27-2000, 11:35 PM - Thread Starter
S2K
Member
 
S2K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a DVD player that is capable of decoding HDCD. If my DVD player is connected to my pre-amp via digital coax only, am I still getting the benefits of HDCD or does the connection need to be analog?

Thanks for any enlightenment.
S2K is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-28-2000, 06:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Dave McRoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Lake Worth, FL, USA
Posts: 1,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Assuming that your outboard decoder does not have HDCD capability then you need to use the DAC that's built into your CD player to take full advantage of HDCD. That means sending the CD player's analog outputs to your preamp, as you surmised.

------------------
HiDefDave

HiDefDave

STOP HDCP!
Dave McRoy is offline  
Old 12-28-2000, 11:11 AM
Senior Member
 
hk29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How good is HDCD playback? Is it worth choosing a DVD player with this capability?
hk29 is offline  
Old 12-28-2000, 02:50 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
rudolpht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Boxborough, MA, USA
Posts: 7,566
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hk29,

After coming to the analog realization based on DenonDave advice (sorry Dave he beat you), I did see some benefit in HDCD, but remember there is limited which will be overcome by DVD-Audio & SACD. Many Tosh DVD players (mine is a 5109) have HDCD, but it would not be a short list feature I would search out.

The difference on a Denon 5800 (with 4xDACs in pure Direct) is marginal at best.

Tim

Tim
Selling Anthem PVA7.
STABILITY + Superior audio (SC09-TX) + Incredible picture (VPL-VW200) + good integration.
rudolpht is offline  
Old 12-28-2000, 10:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
shelly40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale
Posts: 617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 17
If your processor doesn't have an analog bypass, are you losing the benefits of HDCD, and SACD since it gets digitized again ?
shelly40 is online now  
Old 12-28-2000, 10:23 PM - Thread Starter
S2K
Member
 
S2K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for clearing this up, Dave.
S2K is offline  
Old 12-29-2000, 08:09 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
rudolpht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Boxborough, MA, USA
Posts: 7,566
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Correct.

Tim

Tim
Selling Anthem PVA7.
STABILITY + Superior audio (SC09-TX) + Incredible picture (VPL-VW200) + good integration.
rudolpht is offline  
Old 12-29-2000, 09:20 AM
Senior Member
 
Ed Csoltko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You need to bypass your preamp (that does not have analog bypass) with a passive preamp.
Ed Csoltko is offline  
Old 12-30-2000, 04:42 PM
Senior Member
 
jfrano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Butler, NJ, USA
Posts: 332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will the Denon 5700 process the HDCD signal properly. What are the benefits of HDCD, is it a competing format against DVD-A or SACD??

Thanks!
jfrano is offline  
Old 12-30-2000, 08:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
shelly40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale
Posts: 617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 17
How is a passive preamp inserted into the system ? It still has to have connections to the main amp... but I can only use 1 input to that....... or can I hook up RCA plugs and XLR cables at the same time to the same amp ? Thanks
shelly40 is online now  
Old 12-31-2000, 11:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
shelly40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale
Posts: 617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Anybody ?

shelly40 is online now  
Old 01-01-2001, 09:36 AM
Senior Member
 
hk29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HDCD is not a competing format for the SACD or DVD-A. HDCD was created years ago and is based on a 20bit encoding/decoding process still at 44khz stereo.
hk29 is offline  
Old 01-01-2001, 09:42 AM
Senior Member
 
hk29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
oh yeah - Happy New Year!

I don't believe you specifically need a mode that says analog bypass. As long as your pe-amp or reciever does not digitize the music again ... for instance my yamaha 795 (don't laugh) does not have an analog bypass, but as long as I say main speakers is large and bass is subwoofer only then I am passing an analog signal directly through.

What is a passive pre-amp? I suspect that you it goes between your pre-amp and amp (i.e. pre-amp output rca into passive pre-amp then output of the passive to amp). Then your HDCD player would plug in the Passive. When you switch the passive to play from its input it ignores the original pre-amp ... my guess. Can anyone suggest a brand and model then we can take a look at the specifications? THANKS!
hk29 is offline  
Old 01-01-2001, 11:35 AM
Senior Member
 
Ed Csoltko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good guess. I'm using the Creek OBH-12 Remote Control Passive Preamp to bypass my Lexicon MC-1 for SACDs. I got it from Audio Advisor. Recommended by audioreview.com and Stereophile Magazine.
Ed Csoltko is offline  
Old 01-02-2001, 03:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
shelly40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale
Posts: 617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 17
OK.. a couple of questions...
What is a passive preamp ? Is there an active preamp ?
I see where I can get a B&K PT3 ,,, its a preamp with a built in tuner... Would this accomplish what I need to have an analog bypass and not go through my processor that digitizes everything ?
Heres the address to the PT3 page so someone more knowledgeable can take a look
http://www.bkcomp.com/preamp.html
Thanks for answering



[This message has been edited by shelly40 (edited 01-02-2001).]
shelly40 is online now  
Old 01-02-2001, 09:08 PM
Senior Member
 
Ed Csoltko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Creek OBH-12 is a remote control passive preamplifer that does not introduce any gain or distortion to the incomming signal(s). The volume control is a variable attenuator (potentiometer) that can be manually controlled or by an infra-red remote control.
Ed Csoltko is offline  
Old 01-02-2001, 09:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
shelly40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale
Posts: 617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Would the above mentioned PT3 serve the same purpose?
shelly40 is online now  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off