Multiple Optical outputs into one input, with Escient system - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 01-01-2001, 05:15 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
BobDole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Boston, MA, USA
Posts: 814
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an Escient Tunesbase 100 system that I use with two Sony 555ES cd changers. I currently am running two 25 foot analog interconnects into two separate inputs on my Pioneer Elite receiver (CD and LD). I have the switch between the two inputs based on what changer is playing. I know the MSB digital director with the scan upgrade will automatically switch inputs based on which changer is playing. I am considereing using the splitter combiner for $20 available at http://www.soundprofessionals.com/cables/index.html and running the digital signal to a DAC. While both players will be on, only one will be playing at a time. This is only a temporary solution until the summer (I'm in a small dorm room now; apartment next year), so I don't want to spend much money right now. If this adapter will pass the digital signal to a DAC (I'm thinking used Theta DS PRO right now), it would be great. Keep in mind that the audio isn't that great now b.c I'm using cheap monster ($50/25 feet) analog interconnects from the mediocre ES DACS. thanks so much!
BobDole is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 01-02-2001, 09:09 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
BobDole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Boston, MA, USA
Posts: 814
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
^
BobDole is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 01-03-2001, 08:46 AM
Member
 
Kit_C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: San Diego, CA USA
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One way of getting around having to switch the inputs for each source would be to run the outputs of each player into an analog mixer, with the output of the mixer connected to your reciever.

Kit
San Diego, CA
Kit_C is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 01-03-2001, 12:11 PM
Member
 
Kit_C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: San Diego, CA USA
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here's a link to a page that describes how to build your own analog mixer. The active design is what you would want to use:

http://www.nirvis.com/mixers.htm

There are MIDI products that would fit the bill, as well. Try looking at:

http://www.midiman.com/product.htm

I think the MultiMixer 6 is a popular choice for this sort of thing. You'll need to make a set of 1/4" -->RCA patch cables to use it.

Regards,

Kit
San Diego, CA
Kit_C is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 01-03-2001, 10:52 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
BobDole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Boston, MA, USA
Posts: 814
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the responses, guys! Does anyone know a place to get a cheap analog mixer to use in that application? Also, the Digital Director is still an option, I just don't want to pay the $394 price right now. If there is somewhere that sells it cheaper than that (with the scan upgrade), then that would be great! Thanks again!
BobDole is offline  
Closed Thread Speakers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off