Bose cubes as surrounds with Denon Amp - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 05-22-2007, 02:03 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
89vette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My old HT set up used white dual cubes as my surrounds with my fronts being Paradigm Cinema 90's with a Paradigm Center CC and PDR 10 sub. They worked OK and looked OK.

Now I am upgrading the HT room with a new panny 58" plasma, Denon AVR2807 Receiver, Paradigm Monitor 7 fronts and a CC290 center. I want to use my Cinema 90 fronts as my surrounds and (I have 7.1 now) and keep the Bose as my rear surounds.

I know Bose stinks but my question is I remember reading somewhere that Bose speakers are a different ohm rating and can damage amps. My old Kenwood amp had no problem but before I plug these things into the Denon, I thought I'd better ask.

Thanks
89vette is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 05-22-2007, 07:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
mannoiaj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 858
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
the denon should have no problem powering bose cube speakers.
mannoiaj is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 05-22-2007, 08:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sirquack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Iowa
Posts: 2,707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Denon's can drive audiophile 4 ohm speakers, there is no way a BOSE cube is going to even cause a Denon to break a sweat, especially for rears.

___________
"Don't worry about the future, it is already tomorrow in Australia..."

My Website
Sirquack is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 05-22-2007, 09:19 PM
 
ChrisWiggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 20,730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
You should be fine. However, the bose cubes are meant to be used with their acousticrap module that has the crossovers. You won't be able to do it properly without that, however, I figure the worst you could do is blow them which in any case is extremely unlikely to happen as rear backs as there is very unlikely to be enough low bass in those channels to really damage them.

I would suggest you try using the system in 5.1 and 7.1 and see which you prefer, they may be fine just to fill in to the rear, or you may prefer just to stick with the paradigms in a 5.1 array. But experiment to see.
ChrisWiggles is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 05-23-2007, 06:57 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
89vette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you for all the info. Actually I'm a bit confused as to what to do. With my old 5.1 system, the surrounds were mouted behind the listener on the ceiling pointed down. After reading my Denon AVR-2807 manual last night, I don't understand if I want to stay with 5.1 sound, would the rear speakers be surrounds L and R or surround backs L and R?
89vette is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 05-23-2007, 07:08 AM
Member
 
EnzoPolotso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 89vette View Post

Thank you for all the info. Actually I'm a bit confused as to what to do. With my old 5.1 system, the surrounds were mouted behind the listener on the ceiling pointed down. After reading my Denon AVR-2807 manual last night, I don't understand if I want to stay with 5.1 sound, would the rear speakers be surrounds L and R or surround backs L and R?

If you're only going to use 5.1, use the normal surround outputs, not rear or surround back. Put them wherever you like though.
EnzoPolotso is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 05-23-2007, 07:28 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
89vette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Enzo. I will use my rear speakers just as surounds and not use them for rear surrounds. That being the case, I have the option accordign to the manual to use the surround back speaker amps to wire my front Paradigm Monitor 7's in a bi-amp mode.

What is the reason to wire speakers in a bi-amp mode?
89vette is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 05-23-2007, 07:52 AM
Senior Member
 
True Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: N. Virginia, USA
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 89vette View Post

Thanks Enzo. I will use my rear speakers just as surounds and not use them for rear surrounds. That being the case, I have the option accordign to the manual to use the surround back speaker amps to wire my front Paradigm Monitor 7's in a bi-amp mode.
What is the reason to wire speakers in a bi-amp mode?

To give more power to them (sometimes it goes along with the improved sound)

Listening to sound opinions, preferring sound of music ...
True Fan is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 05-23-2007, 07:59 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
89vette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That is what I figured. I the Denon is rated at 110W per channel does that mean the speakers will have 220W going to them? I think they are rated to only 180W.
89vette is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 05-23-2007, 09:45 AM
 
ChrisWiggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 20,730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnzoPolotso View Post

If you're only going to use 5.1, use the normal surround outputs, not rear or surround back. Put them wherever you like though.

You don't want to just put them wherever. You need to place them properly for the best results, according to dolby which is to the side.
ChrisWiggles is offline  
post #11 of 16 Old 05-23-2007, 09:53 AM
huh
Member
 
huh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: DC metro area, northern VA
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
bose...
huh is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 05-23-2007, 09:56 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
sdurani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Monterey Park, CA
Posts: 19,627
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1223 Post(s)
Liked: 949
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisWiggles View Post

the bose cubes are meant to be used with their acousticrap module that has the crossovers

Good point. However, if the satellites are going to be run through the bass module, then the exact same distance setting should be set in the receiver for both speakers (even if they are at different distances). Since the bass module sums the low frequencies, the last thing you want is two signals with different delays being combined (recipe for phase cancellations).

Sanjay

Sanjay
sdurani is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 05-23-2007, 10:36 PM
Senior Member
 
Luap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If the Kenwood can handle it, the Denon can, but I suspect that the result may be worse than using 5.1 because the Bose can't really put out much volume or proper mid-bass or treble.
Luap is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 05-24-2007, 07:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lexa695's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Somewhere in New York
Posts: 1,971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'd be more concerned with the sound quality of the cubes if you don't use the bass module. The cube is a single or in the case of double cubes, two drivers and that is it. All the electronics are in the bass module and I am sure there is something besides a x-over in it to give the cubes better sound.

OK, so why *again* do we need a bigger one?
lexa695 is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 05-25-2007, 02:49 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
89vette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I ditched the Bose and put the Paradigms Cinema 90's back there. The mounted the ceiling with the brackets I used for the Bose just fine. So they are slightly behind and pointing down to the listener. I pick up the monitor 7's tonight.
89vette is offline  
post #16 of 16 Old 05-25-2007, 03:03 AM
Member
 
JRSUB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried Bose cubes as surrounds. While they do make sound, it is not very good.
JRSUB is offline  
Reply Speakers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off