How do you DC-1 owners deal without component switching? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 12-24-2000, 08:47 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Mane3215's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Baltimore, MD, USA
Posts: 801
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What do you guys use? I am looking into the dc-1 but i would really have liked to have the component video switching found on some higher end receivers. What do you guys do if you have the dvd/sat/hdtv? Thanks for the input.

Chris
Mane3215 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 12-24-2000, 10:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Philip Brandes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 1,080
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Very few of the receivers and pre/pros touting "component switching" capability have implemented the necessary bandwidth to pass HDTV signal without degradation. The top-of-the-line Denon 5800 will handle HDTV, and there might be one or two others--but most of the component-switching receivers are only useful if you plan to switch between two DVD players.

Most high-resolution displays accept multiple inputs anyway, and there are outboard switchers with sufficient bandwidth as well, so the pre/pro isn't a make-or-break factor. You are always better off running video sources directly into the display if possible, as this gives you the purest possible signal path.

Cheers,
Philip Brandes
Philip Brandes is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 12-24-2000, 10:26 AM
Member
 
Craig Robertson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
page 23 of the Nov/Dec edition of The Perfect Vision has an informative article on the bandwidth issue that Philip mentions. the accompanying chart shows only 3 of the 23 listed rcvrs have sufficient bandwidth to handle HD, some don't even have enough to pass a progressive scan signal without degradation.
Craig Robertson is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 12-24-2000, 01:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bulldogger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Clinton,MS
Posts: 6,651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Cal audio labs video switcher the companion to the SSP-2500 has a bandwidth of 100mhz, three times the amount needed, for component switching but only has 2 component inputs. Cost a lot more than the Dc-1 though.

Never become so involved with something that it blinds you.
Bulldogger is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 12-24-2000, 03:55 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Mane3215's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Baltimore, MD, USA
Posts: 801
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So say I do get a dc-1. How do I go about switching compnent inputs of the different sources i use say if i have only 1 component input on my monitor? How is it controlled if its a seperate switcher box? Also a little off subject what amps do you guys use with the dc-1? I would like to get a 7 speaker system.

Chris
Mane3215 is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 12-25-2000, 08:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Steve Dodds's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: San Francisco, now Australia
Posts: 2,883
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I use a pair of Fosgate 4200 four channel amps. These are basically rebadged Citation amps giving 125 per channel bridgeable to 250.

I'd agree with Philip's comments above though.


Steve
Steve Dodds is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 12-25-2000, 09:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Michael Lee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are those BNC connectors that I see on that Extron?

------------------
My Equipment List My DVD Collection
Michael Lee is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 12-25-2000, 09:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Philip Brandes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 1,080
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally posted by Mane3215:
Also a little off subject what amps do you guys use with the dc-1? I would like to get a 7 speaker system.

Chris
Hi Chris,

The DC-1 sound is very clean and neutral, so there is no need to think about needing a particular amp to compensate for the DC-1's coloration. Presumably Lexicon feels Bryston are a good match, since Lexicon's own amps are re-badged Brystons. However, this doesn't rule out any other competently designed amp. Your speakers are more likely to determine whether you want to bias the amp towards warm, dark, bright, or forward--but keep in mind that differences in well-designed amps are relatively small compared to other components. Price should be a significant factor here.

Good luck,
Philip Brandes
Philip Brandes is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 01-06-2001, 09:47 PM
Senior Member
 
ggolamco's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Bay Area, CA, USA
Posts: 440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Philip or Craig,

Was wondering if you could let me know if the B&K Ref30 (or the AVR307 if the article was just about receivers) was one of the few that could handle an HDTV signal without degradation.

Thanks!

Before you criticize someone, you should walk a mile in their shoes. That way, when you criticize them, you're a mile away and you have their shoes.
ggolamco is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 01-15-2001, 03:16 PM
Newbie
 
Hugh Jackes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Anaheim, CA, USA
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Gelee says:

...I've never seen S-Video->BNC adapters...

Extron makes 'em. They're about 8 inches long, with a male mini-DIN on one end and two females BNCs on the other end. Extron's part # 26-353-01.
There is also a male-male, part # 26-353-02.
Hugh Jackes is offline  
Closed Thread Speakers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off