Definitive Technology ProCinema Series 600/800/1000 (or 60/80/100) Thread - Page 16 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews > Audio > Speakers > Definitive Technology ProCinema Series 600/800/1000 (or 60/80/100) Thread

Speakers

SirDracula's Avatar SirDracula
06:16 PM Liked: 20
post #451 of 7454
12-26-2007 | Posts: 655
Joined: Jul 2007
The sub should also have its own volume knob, at least my DefTech ProSub 800 does. If it does, then I would set the sub's volume knob somewhere between 1/3 and 1/2 of the way up, at a point where the sub level is set to 0dB adjustment in the receiver and it almost matches the levels of the other speakers as measured with the SPL meter. Then you can make small adjustments up or down 0.5-1.5 dB from the receiver level control. It make no sense to me to have the sub volume knob say all the way up and then adjust the level from the receiver at say -10dB to get it to match the rest of the speakers. From what I read, if the sub has a volume knob, its sweet spot is bettwen 1/3 - 1/2 of the volume range.

Also, if your sub has a crossover knob, make sure it's all the way up and it doesn't cut anything and instead control the crossover from your receiver.
Uptown193's Avatar Uptown193
04:30 AM Liked: 10
post #452 of 7454
12-27-2007 | Posts: 756
Joined: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Plex View Post

Great setup, off subject question, what is under each front speaker stand. Is it just a to increase height or damping?

As for the sub, you should get an SPL meter to confirm levels of speakers and sub. I also used my auto-Cal first followed by the SPL meter and found a few speakers not at the same level. I have my sub set or running +5to 8db higher than the other speakers, but if you live in an apartment you may have to set it lower.

If you live in apartment or duplex...A friend wrote and told me he uses an pad that damps the sound on his sub from being transfered to the floor and neighbors. He said it made his sub sound better and he could get away with slightly louder levels.

Thank you. They are for sound damping, I got it at home depot. Its just a air conditioner foam used so u wont hear other people AC water drippin on top of yours.
Blasst's Avatar Blasst
01:07 PM Liked: 27
post #453 of 7454
12-27-2007 | Posts: 3,518
Joined: Jul 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirDracula View Post

The sub should also have its own volume knob, at least my DefTech ProSub 800 does. If it does, then I would set the sub's volume knob somewhere between 1/3 and 1/2 of the way up, at a point where the sub level is set to 0dB adjustment in the receiver and it almost matches the levels of the other speakers as measured with the SPL meter. Then you can make small adjustments up or down 0.5-1.5 dB from the receiver level control. It make no sense to me to have the sub volume knob say all the way up and then adjust the level from the receiver at say -10dB to get it to match the rest of the speakers. From what I read, if the sub has a volume knob, its sweet spot is bettwen 1/3 - 1/2 of the volume range.

Also, if your sub has a crossover knob, make sure it's all the way up and it doesn't cut anything and instead control the crossover from your receiver.

SirDracula,

You must have missed my post on the last page, where I ended up with the DefTech 800 system, just like yours.

I have the crossover turned all the way up on the Prosub 800, yet I don't see anywhere in my receiver menu that allows it to control the crossover. What exactly would I be looking for to control crossover in the receiver?
Archangel 70's Avatar Archangel 70
05:26 PM Liked: 10
post #454 of 7454
12-28-2007 | Posts: 13
Joined: Mar 2007
Hello,

I just recieved all of my Def Tech gear: 1000's all around and a 2000 center. I have hooked everything up...only problem is that I'm not getting anything out of my sub. I connected the cable from the Pre-Out Sub Port on my Sony STR-DA4300ES reciever to the LFE port on the back of the sub. If anybody could pass on some knowledge, I would really appreciate it.

Thanks
tanman's Avatar tanman
05:31 PM Liked: 14
post #455 of 7454
12-28-2007 | Posts: 405
Joined: Apr 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archangel 70 View Post

Hello,

I just recieved all of my Def Tech gear: 1000's all around and a 2000 center. I have hooked everything up...only problem is that I'm not getting anything out of my sub. I connected the cable from the Pre-Out Sub Port on my Sony STR-DA4300ES reciever to the LFE port on the back of the sub. If anybody could pass on some knowledge, I would really appreciate it.

Thanks

If I may ask, what are your room dimensions (volume)?
Archangel 70's Avatar Archangel 70
05:43 PM Liked: 10
post #456 of 7454
12-28-2007 | Posts: 13
Joined: Mar 2007
It's about 15 x 12
av30's Avatar av30
08:47 PM Liked: 10
post #457 of 7454
12-28-2007 | Posts: 70
Joined: Nov 2006
Barring problems with the sub itself, this sounds like a settings issue.

I'd check to make sure the sub is receiving power first of all, and then make your sub is actually turned on in your receiver settings. If everything checks out, check your crossover levels. Since you're using the LFE crank your sub crossover all the way up and use your Sony to set the frequency to pass it.

Check to make sure the gain dial isn't cranked all the way down. These are obvious things but you didnt really specify what you've checked so far.

I have the same speaker system as you and also a ProSub1000, and I currently have everything crossed at 80hz. Front and surround speakers set to "small", and "yes" to subwoofer (back to the point about having it turned on in the receiver) on my Rotel 1056.

Not sure about the menus on your Sony but being an ES one would think it should have something similar. Check the Sony thread.
Plex's Avatar Plex
09:21 PM Liked: 11
post #458 of 7454
12-28-2007 | Posts: 2,044
Joined: Jun 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archangel 70 View Post

Hello,

I just recieved all of my Def Tech gear: 1000's all around and a 2000 center. I have hooked everything up...only problem is that I'm not getting anything out of my sub. I connected the cable from the Pre-Out Sub Port on my Sony STR-DA4300ES reciever to the LFE port on the back of the sub. If anybody could pass on some knowledge, I would really appreciate it.

Thanks

A friend just had same problem, it was solved by doing the receiver auto calibration. For some reason after he did that the receivers LEF detected the connection and was now working.
Blasst's Avatar Blasst
10:17 AM Liked: 27
post #459 of 7454
12-29-2007 | Posts: 3,518
Joined: Jul 2004
I'll bring up the crossover question I had in my last post.

Where do you control the crossover in your receiver?

I do not see an option for that in my Sony receiver.

Is it preset in the receiver?



Another question:

Did any of you go from the ProCinema 800 system, to the ProCinema 1000?

And did you use the ProMonitor 2000 center vs the 1000?

If so how much of a difference was to be found?
Turbozilla's Avatar Turbozilla
01:32 PM Liked: 10
post #460 of 7454
12-29-2007 | Posts: 28
Joined: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blasst View Post

I'll bring up the crossover question I had in my last
Did any of you go from the ProCinema 800 system, to the ProCinema 1000?

I went with the 1000 instead of the lower models. The reason, I usually tend to go with the higher models of any particular line. There have been a few times in the past where I get lower models, then I go back to return them for the higher ones. Thats not to say that the lower ones were not good.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blasst View Post

And did you use the ProMonitor 2000 center vs the 1000?

Same as above.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blasst View Post

If so how much of a difference was to be found?

Hard for me to say, I didn't have other models to compare them too. I did hear the ProMonitor 800s + ProCenter 1000 at Best Buy Magnolia. I was able to compare them to a few other brands. I enjoyed the sound of the ProCinema line better. I wasn't able to compare between 600, 800 and 1000, PC 2000 because they didn't have them all available to demo. I figure if the 800s sounded this good the 1000s would perform just as well.


Christopher
nerdyone's Avatar nerdyone
04:09 PM Liked: 10
post #461 of 7454
12-29-2007 | Posts: 229
Joined: May 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blasst View Post

I'll bring up the crossover question I had in my last post.

Where do you control the crossover in your receiver?

I do not see an option for that in my Sony receiver.

Is it preset in the receiver?



Another question:

Did any of you go from the ProCinema 800 system, to the ProCinema 1000?

And did you use the ProMonitor 2000 center vs the 1000?

If so how much of a difference was to be found?

I have demoed in my house both the 1000 and 2000 center and I stuck with the 1000. The 2000 did have a tad bit more midrange, but it wasn't enough to justify the extra cost. I put the money aside for an additonal super cube 3 down the line.
Blasst's Avatar Blasst
05:41 PM Liked: 27
post #462 of 7454
12-29-2007 | Posts: 3,518
Joined: Jul 2004
Thanks for your thoughts nerdyone, and Turbozilla.

As with anything in this hobby, I'll just have to check them out myself and see if it is worth the upgrade.
eaglesmaniac's Avatar eaglesmaniac
11:40 AM Liked: 10
post #463 of 7454
12-30-2007 | Posts: 77
Joined: Jun 2006
I just bought the Def Tech 1000 system and a supercubeIII. So far I have been very happy with them...I still have some tweaking to do on the sub. I have a Onkyo 705 receiver.

As far as stands I used the EFSATS but I tried to mount them directly on the stand per some earlier posts and found the the speakers did not sit square....side to side or front to back. I ended up mounting a 5 1/2 x 5 1/2 x 5/8" thick piece of MDF that I painted black to match the stand. I used a 1/4-20 screw to mountthe MDF platform to the stand with a hole right in the center and drilled another one slightly foward for securing the speaker. I used a 1/4-20 screw to pass through the MDF and thru the supplied Def tech tripod feet/stand---this way the speaker is bolted right to the stand.

On a side note I picked up an ANTEC A/V cooler to keep the reciever cool. It works fantastic. I keep my cabinet doors shut and the reciever stays totally cool.

I will post some pics later
acamato's Avatar acamato
10:36 PM Liked: 10
post #464 of 7454
12-30-2007 | Posts: 37
Joined: Dec 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archangel 70 View Post

Hello,

I just received all of my Def Tech gear: 1000's all around and a 2000 center. I have hooked everything up...only problem is that I'm not getting anything out of my sub. I connected the cable from the Pre-Out Sub Port on my Sony STR-DA4300ES reciever to the LFE port on the back of the sub. If anybody could pass on some knowledge, I would really appreciate it.

Thanks

Make sure that the red light on the back of the sub is on. When I got everything hooked up, I never calibrated anything. The sub would turn on only when my receiver vol was at -25 dB (Onkyo 875). Once I ran the cal program a few times. I had to lower the vol knob on the sub to get around a 0 dB setting (was -12 dB after the first cal run) on the receiver. Now the sub will power on at much lower volumes.
techboydino's Avatar techboydino
11:51 AM Liked: 10
post #465 of 7454
12-31-2007 | Posts: 26
Joined: Dec 2007
Does anyone have any recommendations to mounting a ProCenter 1000? I am looking for a wallmount possibly that swivels. Links and or mfg's would be great. Thanks. Happy New Year.
ducky124's Avatar ducky124
01:49 PM Liked: 10
post #466 of 7454
12-31-2007 | Posts: 46
Joined: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by techboydino View Post

Does anyone have any recommendations to mounting a ProCenter 1000? I am looking for a wallmount possibly that swivels. Links and or mfg's would be great. Thanks. Happy New Year.

check the def Tech site..They have just what you need.

http://www.definitivetech.com/loudsp....html#promount

Try EBay for a good deal, I picked up a pair for .99 plus $5.00 shipping.
techboydino's Avatar techboydino
08:26 PM Liked: 10
post #467 of 7454
12-31-2007 | Posts: 26
Joined: Dec 2007
thanks. you used a pair yourself for a procenter?
ducky124's Avatar ducky124
12:19 AM Liked: 10
post #468 of 7454
01-01-2008 | Posts: 46
Joined: Sep 2007
No, I used them to mount 2 of my rear speakers
Rob423's Avatar Rob423
08:58 AM Liked: 10
post #469 of 7454
01-01-2008 | Posts: 256
Joined: Mar 2007
Here is some pictures of my setup.

equipment.

Sammy 4665F 46" TV
Definitive Technology Pro Cinema 1000's.
Comcast DVR
Yamaha RX2700
PS3 60gb
Sony Upconvert Player..barely gets used.
Everything connected by HDMI.

Image and sound quality is much greater than I expected.

room size is roughly 10x13. These speakers are far more than what's needed for this size room. My Berkline Chair (thanks to Roman) Rattles like it as a sub underneath.

As far as the Stands for Speakers.. two of them are original that I got when I bought the Speakers. Me and my dad then copied them and replicated them ourselves. The one's we made are the ones by the Chair. The ones near the TV are Store bought ones.

Tv Stand is also Home Built. has side area for DvDs.


















dannyjl's Avatar dannyjl
10:56 AM Liked: 10
post #470 of 7454
01-02-2008 | Posts: 42
Joined: Nov 2007
Those stands look really nice! I think I'm gonna try to replicate soemthing along those lines as I can't justify spending $150 for another pair of Def Tech stands. I have the smaller stands for the Pro 600/800 that cost $100. Should have been more forward thinking when I got those.
srauly's Avatar srauly
12:26 PM Liked: 13
post #471 of 7454
01-02-2008 | Posts: 1,537
Joined: Apr 2000
Is anyone pairing DefTech speakers with a Panasonic digital amplifier/receiver (e.g., SA-XR55, SA-XR57, SA-XR700) and, if so, how do the two sound? It's my understanding that pairing a digital amplifier with "bright" speakers isn't a good idea, and this type of amplifier might work better with warm/mellow-sounding speakers, but I confess to potentially not knowing what I'm talking about.

On a related note...if a digital amplifier does work well with DefTech speakers, are these Panasonic receivers the only receivers of this type available at an affordable price?
Rob423's Avatar Rob423
03:02 PM Liked: 10
post #472 of 7454
01-02-2008 | Posts: 256
Joined: Mar 2007
yea 100$ is nuts. We made these out of some Pine. Spray painted them flat black. in person they look identical to the ones that were thrown in with the package.
Rob423's Avatar Rob423
03:07 PM Liked: 10
post #473 of 7454
01-02-2008 | Posts: 256
Joined: Mar 2007
I know the pioneer elite 84 receiver works extremely excellent with these speakers.

not sure about panasonic
SirDracula's Avatar SirDracula
03:10 PM Liked: 20
post #474 of 7454
01-02-2008 | Posts: 655
Joined: Jul 2007
I think JVC makes some digital amp receivers that were reviewed positively by CNET, but apparently they run very hot.

I don't know why you'd want a digital amp receiver when you can find traditional ones that are very nice from Denon, Yamaha, HK, etc.
srauly's Avatar srauly
05:22 PM Liked: 13
post #475 of 7454
01-02-2008 | Posts: 1,537
Joined: Apr 2000
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirDracula View Post

I think JVC makes some digital amp receivers that were reviewed positively by CNET, but apparently they run very hot.

I don't think that's digital. Actually, from what I understand about the Panasonic, it runs very cool, and I believe that has something to do with the digital amplification technology.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirDracula View Post

I don't know why you'd want a digital amp receiver when you can find traditional ones that are very nice from Denon, Yamaha, HK, etc.

Well, the Panasonic has a big following. The digital amplification technology is, in theory, a next-gen technology that has some positives (and some negatives), not unlike my Mazda RX-8's rotary engine.
eaglesmaniac's Avatar eaglesmaniac
05:51 PM Liked: 10
post #476 of 7454
01-02-2008 | Posts: 77
Joined: Jun 2006
Is the 2000 center that much better than the 1000? I see mention of this in the thread and also on one of the reviews?

I have the 1000 now....just wondering

Can anyone else provide feedback?


Thanks
enubis416's Avatar enubis416
07:18 PM Liked: 10
post #477 of 7454
01-02-2008 | Posts: 33
Joined: Jul 2006
I have this same system but i ended up with a rel sub, but either way you will love it.
Blasst's Avatar Blasst
09:11 PM Liked: 27
post #478 of 7454
01-02-2008 | Posts: 3,518
Joined: Jul 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by techboydino View Post

thanks. you used a pair yourself for a procenter?


They work great for a ProCenter1000, just installed them yesterday.

Being able to aim the Center with these wall mounts by Definitive is splendid.

I used a piece of hardwood 4"x15" or so and drilled that right into a stud, then I could just fasten the wall brackets into that.

Fastening the brackets this way for me, was essential since I use a two display system, and I take the center down frequently,to reposition, and didn't want to pull any anchors out of the drywall, with on/off usage.

I have cloth on that part of the wall covering the added piece,so you can't see the piece I drilled into the wall.
pospower's Avatar pospower
05:03 AM Liked: 10
post #479 of 7454
01-04-2008 | Posts: 194
Joined: Aug 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by dannyjl View Post

Those stands look really nice! I think I'm gonna try to replicate soemthing along those lines as I can't justify spending $150 for another pair of Def Tech stands. I have the smaller stands for the Pro 600/800 that cost $100. Should have been more forward thinking when I got those.

I have the smaller stands as well and they work fine with the 1000's. FYI
dannyjl's Avatar dannyjl
03:53 PM Liked: 10
post #480 of 7454
01-04-2008 | Posts: 42
Joined: Nov 2007
I recently picked up a pair of 350's - I don't know if they'd match well with the smaller stands. Of course the top plate of the stand is way to small so that would have to be replaced. I was thinking of adding a piece of 6" x 6" or so piece of wood to the smaller base. I think the bottom plate would also be too small. I'm in the states now and won't really be able to tell till I get back to Japan next week. Think I'll just make a pair like in the pictures above.
Tags: Definitive Technology Procinema 600 5 1 Speaker System , Definitive Technology Procinema 1000 5 1 Speaker System , Definitive Technology

Reply Speakers

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3