How do I hook up computer speakers to my HDTV? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 11-09-2007, 09:50 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
brandog712's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would like to hook up my computer speakers to my vizio lcd tv, i'm not sure if this is possible or what I need. Here's what im working with:

I can't post urls yet, but have a vizio vw32l tv
-it has the regular audio plugs, nothing fancy from what i can tell.

Dell 5650 speakers 5 peice w/ subwoofer.
-the speakers all plug into the sub, along with a volume control(speaker combo) that also plugs into the sub.

I also have a sound blaster extigy (external video card), it has optical in/out, usb, spdif in, midi in/out, digital out, sub-rear-front.

I'm a complete noob with this, so if you could provide some simple helpful info that'd be great.

Thanks
brandog712 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 11-09-2007, 10:16 AM
 
Nuthed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Rockford,Illinois
Posts: 933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If the TV has a headphone out (unlikely) just plug into that. Otherwise I don't know.
Nuthed is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 11-09-2007, 10:53 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
brandog712's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
it doesnt have a headphone out, that'd be too easy
brandog712 is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 11-09-2007, 11:11 AM
Member
 
tazzmissionx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What video sources are you watching on your tv? You make it sound like you are using some rabbit ears tuning in local channels on your tv. The tv itself has zero audio outs so if this were the case you are out of luck.
tazzmissionx is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 11-09-2007, 01:25 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
brandog712's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I use cable (i plug into a wall, no receiver), and a PS3 60GB. The PS3 has an optical out on it, i've never used one before. my soud blaster extigy has optical ins, so should i buy an optical cord?
brandog712 is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 11-10-2007, 10:05 AM
Member
 
tazzmissionx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, that will work. I have not had hands on experience with the PS3 but if configuring it is similiar to the PS2 you will have to make sure that the PS3 is configured so that audio is being directed through the optical port.

Also, the Extigy does not need to be hooked up to your computer when doing this, the Extigy can function as a stand-alone decoder (like a receiver) due to having a hardware based Dolby Digital decoder, which gives you the capability to hook up things like a PS3 or other devices that can use optical out for audio.
tazzmissionx is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 11-10-2007, 11:10 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
brandog712's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought an optical cable last night and hooked it all up. Works great so far, thanks for the help
brandog712 is offline  
Reply Speakers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off